Occupational Outlook Handbook by Each career description contains a section labeled "More Info" that contains a list of professional organizations and associations.
Library databases -- Search using a combination of your specific career combined with words commonly used to describe controversial issues. Use the Search Word Suggestions box on this page.
Professional organizations -- Use Occupational Outlook Handbook's "more Info" tab to find recommended professional organizations. (The link and info box is on this page). On the organizational websites look for current newsletters, conferences, and any mention of their scholarly or trade publications. You're looking for any type of communication that will allow you to view the specific issues getting the most attention.
Recent journals and trade magazines in your field (print or online) -- Browse the list of professional and trade journals that you found on the organizational websites. You can try browsing them on the web, but most will require a membership or fee to view the articles. A better option is to browse the journal subscriptions through the library. The library’s Journals A-Z will let you browse journals by title or by subject area. Focus on the contents of the most recent issues.
The JEWL Search Box on the library homepage will give the largest number of results. However, these smaller starting points are often a better approach.
Also remember to use the Library Research Guide related to your career field to see suggestions for subject specialized databases.
Fulltext multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals and other reports, 19th century to present.
Different types of publications have different purposes and different audiences. Publications are usually divided into three broad categories: scholarly, popular, and trade. It might also be helpful to look at: How To Find Scholarly Peer Reviewed Articles
| Scholarly Journals | Popular Magazines | Trade | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Purpose | Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field. | Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis. | Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business. |
| Authors | Articles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field. | Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff. | Articles are written by specialists in a certain field or industry. |
| Audience | Intended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts. | Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists. | Intended for practitioners in a particular profession, business, or industry. |
When searching databases for career issues, try combining your career with some variation of these words/phrases:
