Walker Library: Chemistry: Chemical Data & Spectra

Properties Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by David R. Lide (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - 1st Floor 540 C85 2007/2008
ISBN: 0849304881
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by J. G. Speight; Norbert Adolph Lange; John A. Dean
Call Number: Walker Library - 3rd Floor 540.3 L26h 2005
ISBN: 0071432205
Publication Date: 2004-12-20
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook by Robert H. Perry; Donald W. Green
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 660.28 C42 1997
ISBN: 0070498415
Publication Date: 1997-06-01
Handbook of Inorganic Chemicals by Pradyot Patnaik
Call Number: Reference - 1st Floor 546 P27h
ISBN: 0070494398
Publication Date: 2002-11-20

Chemical Property Databases

SciFinderⁿ (CAS SciFinderⁿ) This link opens in a new window
Database of references, substances, reactions and supplier content in chemistry and related sciences. Includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more. MTSU users must register for SciFinderⁿ with an MTSU email address. SciFinderⁿ is only available to current MTSU students, faculty, and staff.
SciFinderⁿ Quick Reference Guide (PDF)

SciFinderⁿ Training

Mobile site at scifinder.cas.org/mobile (must register before using mobile site).

PubChem
Contains more than 10 million compound structures with their biological property information and 17 million records of substances.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Search for data on specific compounds in the Chemistry WebBook based on name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, or selected ion energetics and spectral properties.
ChemIDplus
Dictionary of over 370,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). Includes links to NLM and other databases and resources.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Properties of Organic Compounds
Properties of Organic Compounds is a database that contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.

Finding Spectra Online

SciFinderⁿ (CAS SciFinderⁿ) This link opens in a new window
Database of references, substances, reactions and supplier content in chemistry and related sciences. Includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more. MTSU users must register for SciFinderⁿ with an MTSU email address. SciFinderⁿ is only available to current MTSU students, faculty, and staff.
SciFinderⁿ Quick Reference Guide (PDF)

SciFinderⁿ Training

Mobile site at scifinder.cas.org/mobile (must register before using mobile site).

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS
Spectra for over 33,000 organic compounds, mostly FT-IR, MS, 13C-NMR and H-NMR.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Search for data on specific compounds in the Chemistry WebBook based on name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, or selected ion energetics and spectral properties.
Sigma-Aldrich Catalog
FT-IR Raman, FT-IR Condensed Phase and FT-NMR spectra for some chemicals in the Sigma Aldrich catalog. If spectra are available, you'll find them under the 'Safety and Documentation' tab
Properties of Organic Compounds
Properties of Organic Compounds is a database that contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.
NMRShiftDB
Search for NMR spectra, structures and properties of organic compounds. Also allows for spectrum prediction and submission of 13C, 1H, 15N and 31P NMR shift datasets for peer review.
Golm Metabolome Database
Facilitates the search and dissemination of mass spectra from biologically active metabolites quantified using Gas chromatography (GC) coupled to mass spectrometry (MS).
MassBank
Public repository of mass spectral data for scientific research.

Additional Chemical Data and Spectra Resources

WebSpectra
Spectroscopy problems (and answers): H-NMR, C13-NMR and some IR spectra of unknown compounds for students to interpret.
KnowItAll Informatics System Academic Edition - Bio-Rad
Free spectra software package for students. Draw 3D, structures, import spectra for lab reports, interpret IR/Raman spectra, process IR/NMR/Raman spectra, and access Sadtler Spectroscopy Handbooks online.

MTSU Labs & Instruments

The MTSU Department of Chemistry is well equipped with research-grade instrumentation. There are a number of computer laboratories available, many with multimedia capabilities. The Department website has a partial listing of labs and instruments that are available.

Spectra Books, E-books, and Serials

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry by John C. Lindon (Editor); George E. Tranter (Editor); John L. Holmes (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - 1st Floor 543.0858 En1l v.1-3
ISBN: 0122266811
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Spectroscopy: (atomic and molecular) by Gurdeep R. Chatwal, Sham K. Anand ; edited by M. Arora, Aseem Anand
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2009
The Aldrich library of NMR spectra by Charles J. Pouchert.
Call Number: Reference - 1st Floor 544.63 P86a v.1-2
Publication Date: 1983
Handbook of Infrared and Raman Spectra of Inorganic Compounds and Organic Salts by Richard A. Nyquist; Ronald O. Kagel; Curtis L. Putzig; M. Anne Leugers
Call Number: Walker Library - 3rd Floor 543.08583 N99h v.1-4
ISBN: 0125234449
Publication Date: 1996-08-29
Selected Mass Spectral Data, quadrupole by Thermodynamics Research Center Hydrocarbon Project
Call Number: Reference - 1st Floor 544.63 Se4mb v. 1-6
Publication Date: 1984

About Us

Chemistry: Chemical Data & Spectra