Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Administration for Children and Families
"The Administration for Children & Families (ACF) is a division of the Department of Health & Human Services. ACF promotes the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals and communities through a range of programs."
Administration on Aging
"The information in this section of the AoA website brings together a wide variety of statistical information about the growing older population."
AGing Integrated Database (AGID)
Based on AoA related data files and surveys, the database includes population characteristics from the Census Bureau for comparison purposes. There are four search options that provide different levels of focus and aggregation of the data.
This report provides the latest data on the 41 key indicators selected by the Forum to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into six subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, health care, and environment.
"The signature report of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being features statistics on children and families in the United States across a range of domains, including family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health."
Children's Defense Fund (CDF)
CDF uses data from a wide range of sources, primarily federal data systems.
FastStats from the CDC
"The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health."
Links to Data Sets and Repositories
Links to shared data compiled by the American Psychological Association.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR offers over 500,000 digital data files in the Social Sciences, including sociology, gerontology, public health, health and medical care,psychology, substance abuse, mental health and much more. NOTE: You will have to set up an account but since MTSU is not a member institution, you will be limited in what you can access.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives
The Roper Center archives include about 19,000 data sets for "analyzing social trends and finding answers to individual questions or conducting more detailed secondary analysis."
Odum Institute for Social Sciences Data Archive
The Odum Institute houses one of the oldest and largest catalogs of machine readable data in the United States. The Odum Archive encourages researchers to deposit their data on any social science or health topic. Data sets are searchable and browsable.
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
Maintained by Cornell University, data archived on child welfare and maltreatment allows for secondary analysis.