Walker Library: Women in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math.: Biographies

Find Autobiographical Information in these Library Databases

Jewish Life in America This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary sources that trace Jewish involvement in American society, 1654-1954.
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
Collection of manuscripts on European travel writing, 13th to 16th centuries.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Primary source texts and images related to Native American history.
North American Women's Letters & Diaries This link opens in a new window
Diaries and letters of American women, colonial era to 1950.
Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700 This link opens in a new window
Biographical & bibliographical resources complied by women during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
Sixties, The: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974 This link opens in a new window
123,000 pages of primary documents related to 1960s America, including diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
See product brochure (pdf)
Download bibliography (Excel file)

Autobiography

http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/truth/1850/1850.html

Find Biographical Information in these Library Databases

African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
Chronicles the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music.
• Full text from major reference works
• Biographies and personal narratives from oral histories
• Manuscripts, song-sheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources
cover jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and
blues, gospel, and other forms of African American musical expression
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of prominent deceased Americans. Maximum 3 simultaneous users.
Offers portraits of more than 19,000 men and women- from all eras and walks of life--whose lives have shaped the nation.
Help page
FAQs
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Index to biographical information in various sources.
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
• Biographical dictionaries and who's whos, which supply information on a number of individuals.
• Subject encyclopedias, which include some biographical entries.
• Volumes of literary criticism, which may contain only a limited amount of biographical information but give critical surveys of a writer's works.
• Indexes, which refer the user to a body of information found elsewhere.
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Biographies, articles and bibliographies for prominent people in all fields.
600,000+ biographical entries — on more than 528,000 individuals — spanning history and geography. Search by Name, Occupation, Nationality, Birth Place, or Death Place.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Periodical coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries).
• Coverage of more than 600,000 individuals
• Over 2.2 million records
• Links to over 300,000 related full-text articles, as well as abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals
• Over 35,000 images
• Substantive narrative profiles averaging 3,000 words in length
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
Online collection of unique material for genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Includes 28,000 ebooks. Provided by Tennessee Electronic Library.
Need help getting started? Consult these Research Aids
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Music Online (from Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches several music databases for text, video, and audio.
Searches African American Music Reference, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library and The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online. Includes streaming audio.
Something About the Author Online This link opens in a new window
Author biographies.

Find Articles

Search general databases that may have biographical information.

About Us

Women in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math.: Biographies

Find Autobiographical Information in these Library Databases

Autobiography

Find Biographical Information in these Library Databases

Find Articles