Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

DANC 4800: History of Dance: Databases

Online Dance Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

These resources provide information about specific dancers, dance companies, choreographers, venues, and genres.

  • The Oxford Dictionary of Dance
    Covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
  • International Dictionary of Modern Dance
    This dictionary is included within the Biographies in Context database. Includes biographies, articles and bibliographies for prominent people in the field of Dance.
  • International Encyclopedia of Dance
    With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.

Periodical Databases

Use these databases to search for articles in journals and magazines.