Skip to main content
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

Distance Learning : Instructor Resources

This guide provides information for MTSU and TN eCampus distance learners and their instructors.

Library Services for Instructors

  • Embedded Librarian - Online instructors may choose to have a librarian "embedded" in their D2L courses to assist students with library and research related questions.  Click here to Request an Embedded Librarian.

Persistent Links for Library Resources

Persistent Links are URLs that connect users directly to an online article, ebook, ejournal, or library database.

When creating a persistent link that will be used by MTSU students or faculty, ensure the link works from off-campus by adding the Off Campus Sign In (proxy) prefix to each URL. You can either manually add the prefix https://ezproxy.mtsu.edu/login?url= to each URL, or you can use the converter below and copy the resulting URL into your project. The proxied URL will work for off- and on-campus MTSU users.

Article databases usually include a persistent link tool somewhere in the article record. Look for a link or icon that says URL, document link, document URL, or something similar. This tool is sometimes grouped with other tools such as print, email, save, or share.

Link Converter

 

Off-Campus Sign In link converter

 

 

Direct Linking

The following database vendors allow direct linking to full text (just view the full text article or book and copy the address from your browser):

  • Alexander Street Press
  • CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
  • GPO Access
  • Highwire journals (Use PDF link)
  • IEEE Xplore (use PDF link)
  • JSTOR
  • Literature Resource Center
  • Oxford 
  • Project Muse
  • R2 Digital Library
  • Sage Full Text Collection (use PDF link)
  • ScienceDirect
  • Valueline
  • Wiley

*You will still need to add the ezproxy prefix to make these links usable from off-campus.

Linking from JEWL Search results


Items included in JEWL Search have a persistent link. From the list of search results, click on the item title, then click on the Permalink icon on the right side tool bar. The link for a physical item in the library (print book, DVD, etc.) will display the JEWL Search record for the item.

Linking from the Library Catalog

Every record in the Library Catalog has a link that can be obtained by copying the URL displayed in the address bar of your Internet browser..

If the catalog record is for an electronic item such as an online government document or ebook, copy the URL for the item itself, not for the catalog record. Right-click and copy the "Connect to Electronic Resource" or "Click for Access" link near the bottom of the catalog record. This URL will already include the off-campus sign in prefix if necessary.

Streaming Videos Library Collections

Walker Library's video databases allow worry free access to either clips or full videos covering a variety of subject disciplines.  In most cases closed captioning is available as well.  Below is a list of our video collections:

Creating Clips - Alexander Street Press

You can create clips of Alexander Street Press videos. The clips can be shown in the classroom to emphasize specific content for a discussion or presentation. Remember, you must create an account in order to create clips.  

Alexander Street Press Video Tutorials: Using the video player; Creating Clips, Creating Custom Playlists and more. 

Creating Playlists

This video shows how to create custom playlists using Music and the Performing Arts as a topic.

Creating an Account

To create a new account, click the  link at the top of any page on the site and select “Create New Account”. Fill in the boxes to create an account.

Streaming Music Library Collections

Freely Available Music Sources

Free Sources for Online Scores