Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

HIST 2020: Survey of US History, 1877-Present: 1920s

Digital Collections

Women's Suffrage Collection  (Calvin M. McClung Collection, Knox County Public Library) Women from East Tennessee played a critical role in the women’s suffrage movement, especially Lizzie Crozier French, Mrs. Hugh L. White and Abby Crawford Milton. The Harry T. Burn Papers related to his decisive vote in favor of women’s suffrage in the Tennessee House of Representatives in 1920 is a key component of this collection.

Prosperity and Thrift: The Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929 (Library of Congress) assembles a wide array of Library of Congress source materials from the 1920s that document the widespread prosperity of the Coolidge years, the nation's transition to a mass consumer economy, and the role of government in this transition. 

Dr. Harry Mustard Photo Album (Tennessee State Library and Archives) documents the Commonwealth Fund Child Health Demonstration’s (CHD) study of the health of children in Rutherford County, Tennessee, between 1924 and 1928.

Scopes "Monkey" Trial (Tennessee State Library and Archives)

Women and Social Movements in the United States More than 100 "document projects" organize primary sources around specific questions. The Documents Projects page lists projects by date, including at least 15 projects about the 1920s (e.g., How Did the Republican Party Respond to Suffragists' Entry into Electoral Politics in New York, 1919-1926?)

Historical Newspapers

Chronicling America (Library of Congress) View content from historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - searches the following historical newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Defender, New Amsterdam News, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, and the Washington Post. Users can limit a search to a specific date or  date range under "Search Options." 

Advertising

Ad*Access (Duke University Libraries) Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

Vogue Archive - Full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from 1892 to the present.

See Also: 20s: All-American Ads - This book in the library's print collection includes reproductions of ads from the 1920s.

Motion Pictures

The Margaret Herrick Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is digitizing a wide variety of materials from its extensive collection. Highlights from the 1920s include photographs of movie stars (e.g., Mary Pickford), early motion picture periodicals, photos and documents from the 1927/28 (1st) Academy Awards banquet, and correspondence of film executive Adolph Zukor.

Documentary Films

The Roaring Twenties (American History in Video, 2004, 27 mins)

Charles Lindbergh: Against the Wind (A&E. 1999, 38 mins.)

Sacco and Vanzetti (American History in Video, 2006, 1 hr, 34 mins.)