Walker Library: HIST 2020: Survey of US History, 1877-Present: 1930s

Digital Collections

Farm Security Administration / Office of War Information Black-and-White Negatives
This collection includes more than 175,000 images of American life between 1935 and 1944.
Amelia Earhart Papers
(Purdue University Libraries)
More than 3,500 scans of photographs, maps, documents, and artifacts relating to Earhart. Of particular importance are the copies of the maps that were used on her last flight are available as well as photographs that she took while on the flight and mailed back to her husband George Palmer Putnam.
Bonnie and Clyde / Barrow Gang Collection
(Dallas Municipal Archives) Photographs, typescript documents, fingerprint cards, and Dallas Police Department memoranda concerning the activities and whereabouts of the Barrow Gang.
Scottsboro Trials Collection
(Cornell University Law Library)
Work Projects Administration (WPA) Poster Collection
The 907 posters in this collection were produced from 1936 to 1943 by various branches of the WPA. The posters publicized exhibits, community activities, theatrical productions, and health and educational programs

Oral History Collections

The Great Depression Interviews (Washington University Library)
The interviews in this collection were part of the seven-part PBS documentary, The Great Depression. Each video and transcript represents the entire interview, including portions that did not appear in the final program.

Oklahoma Women in the Dust Bowl History Project
(Oklahoma State University Library)
This collection includes 46 interviews with women who lived through the Dust Bowl, primarily in the seven western-most counties of Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl hit hardest. These women discuss a wide range of topics, including the WPA, President Roosevelt, domestic life during the Dirty Thirties, rabbit drives, and Saturday evenings in town.

Studs Terkel: Recordings from Hard Times Terkel interviewed hundreds of people across the United States for his book on the Great Depression of the 1930s. The interviews that he selected to be broadcast in eleven parts on the Studs Terkel Program on WFMT radio (Chicago, IL) are included in this online collection.

Historical Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - searches the Atlanta Constitution, the New York Times, the Washington Post, and three African American newspapers: the Chicago Defender, New Amsterdam News, and the Norfolk Journal and Guide. Users can limit a search to a specific date or date range under "Search Options."

Advertising

Ad*Access (Duke University Libraries) Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

Vogue Archive - Full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from 1892 to the present.

Tennessee Connections

Weighing baby

Rutherford County Health Department Photograph Collection (Rutherford County Archives)

Civilian Conservation Corps (TSLA)

Documentary Films

H. Lee Waters Film Collection (Duke University Libraries) Silent films documenting communities in North Carolina, Virginia, and South Carolina from 1936 to 1942.

1930-1939 ( A&E Television, 1991) covers the Great Depression, baseball, boxing, and the Hindenburg disaster.

Amelia Earhart (A&E, 2005, 42 mins.)

Ameteur Filmmakers Record the New York World's Fair and Its Period

Marian Anderson Story: Lady in the Lincoln Memorial

About Us