Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

HIST 2020: Survey of US History, 1877-Present: Women

Digital Collections

Topical Collections

Remembering the 1911 Triangle Factory Fire (Cornell University)

Women Working, 1800-1930 (Harvard University) This rich collection documents working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues.

Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture (Duke University) Documentation of the Miss America protests in 1968 is a key strength of this collection.

Women's Suffrage Collection (McClung Collection) Women from East Tennessee played a critical role in the women’s suffrage movement, especially Lizzie Crozier French, Mrs. Hugh L. White and Abby Crawford Milton. The Harry T. Burn Papers related to his decisive vote in favor of women’s suffrage in the Tennessee House of Representatives in 1920 is a key component of this collection.

Historical Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - searches the Atlanta Constitution, the New York Times, the Washington Post, and three African American newspapers: the Chicago Defender, New Amsterdam News, and the Norfolk Journal and Guide. Users can limit a search to a specific date or  date range under "Search Options." 

Explore Other Digital Collections

Discovering American Women's History Online provides access to more than 600 digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.

Documentaries / Historic Film