Full-text news sources with extensive local, state, regional, national and international coverage. Includes current coverage for Tennessee newspapers.
The Library has subscribed to this resource on a one-year trial basis. At the end of 2020, we will evaluate usage statistics and written feedback from faculty and students, and consider available funding to determine whether we should continue to provide access. Tennessee sources A-Z source list
A completely integrated online repository of video titles covering multiple subject areas: social sciences, fine arts, health, and many more.
A completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles, including discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more.
Primary documents that explore the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia from 1800 to 1924. .
Letter collections, travel journals, diaries and oral histories provide a wealth of first-hand accounts for research into emigration experiences and the hardship of settlement. These are supplemented by scrapbooks, government papers, hand-drawn maps, watercolours, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material which provide significant context to government legislation, commercial interests and living conditions for migrants during this period. Introductory Resources
Collection of documentary films, features and newsreels produced in the communist world.
Socialism on Film Introduction Citing and Embedding Films
Trial subcollections (through April 9, 2019):
• 10 Minutes Around the USSR
• Agricultural News
• Around the Soviet Union
• China Today
• Czechoslovak Life and Czechoslovak in Pictures
• GDR Magazine
• Soviet Health
• Science and Technology Magazine
• Soviet Military Newsreels
• Soviet Sport
• Vietnam Newsreel
Lenin & the Russian Revolution
The Second World War & the Rise of Fascism
The Vietnam War & Southeast Asia
Global tensions & the Cold War
Nuclear War & Peace Movements
The Holocaust & War Crimes
Revolution, War, Conflict in China & Korea
Revolution in Cuba & Latin America
The Spanish Civil War
Collection of sources (manuscripts, visual and printed works) on the history of travel, including accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850.
The Grand Tour is a wonderful source of information about daily life in the eighteenth century, highlighting such everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex.
The material also covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent, and is an invaluable resource for the study of Europe’s urban spaces.
There is a wealth of detail about cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva, including written accounts and visual representations of street life, architecture and urban planning.