Walker Library: Native Americans: History

Websites

Indians in the War
Indians in the War 1945
online copy of this book
Digital History--Native Americans
Cultures of Prehistoric America
WEstern History Digital Collection from the Unviersity of Oklahoma

The Western History Collections is a special collection within the University of Oklahoma Libraries system. Its purpose is to enhance the University Libraries general collection on the history of the American West; to support the research and teaching programs of the University of Oklahoma; and to provide opportunities for research through the acquisition, preservation, and access of materials relating to the development of the Trans-Mississippi West and Native American cultures.
Montana Indians Their history and location

Click on link for a complete listing...

Hathi trust Digital library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Search for "Native American history" or "American Indian history" or search for a particular tribe or topic or event.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexing for articles and more for U.S. & Canadian history, 1960s to present.
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Primary source texts and images related to Native American history.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Collection of video available online for the study of American history.
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
The collection includes:
•Commercial and governmental newsreels
•Archival footage
•Public affairs footage
•Important documentaries
Product Brochure (pdf)
Title List (Excel file)
American West, The This link opens in a new window
Original manuscripts, ephemeral material (trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets etc), maps, and rare printed works of 19th and early 20th century Western Americana.

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life, organized by regions, subregions, and cultures. Works best with Microsoft Edge or Firefox browser.
eHRAF content is from books, journal articles, dissertations, manuscripts and is indexed at the paragraph level using a subject classification system called the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). This allows for cross-cultural research by retrieving content about the same topic in multiple cultures.

eHRAF World Cultures Quick Start guide (PDF)

Also see MTSU Library's eHRAF page for video tutorials and other resources
Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window
Letters, diaries, memoirs describing cross-cultural encounters, 17th to 19th centuries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text (page images) for back issues of various leading scholarly journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals for arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, 1990s to present.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text digital archive of The New York Times, 1851-2018
Historical Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of the Washington Post newspaper, 1877-2004.

Native Americans by Arlene B. Hirschfelder; Beverly Wright (Foreword by)
Call Number: 970.00497 H61n
ISBN: 078945162X
Publication Date: 2000-04-19
Native Americans by Donald A. Grinde
Call Number: 323.1197 N21g
ISBN: 1568026838
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
The Cherokee Freedmen: from emancipation to American citizenship by Daniel Littlefield
Call Number: 970.3 L73c
Publication Date: 1978
Lumbee Indian Histories by Gerald M. Sider
Call Number: 975.6 Si1l
ISBN: 0521420458
Publication Date: 1993-03-26
Ojibwa Warrior: Dennis Banks and the rise of the American Indian Movement by Dennis Banks; Richard Erdoes (Editor)
Call Number: 977.004973 B22o
ISBN: 0806135808
Publication Date: 2004-04-12
American Indian Children at School, 1850-1930 by Michael C. Coleman
ISBN: 058523762X
Publication Date: 1993-01-01

Email Me

Contact:

Walker Library 266F

(615) 898-2549

Subjects: Advertising, Anthropology, Business, Business Communication & Education, Communication Studies, Distance Learning, Entrepreneurship, Journalism, Marketing, Mass Communication, Media Arts (Electronic Media Communication), Public Relations, Social Work, Sociology, Statistics & Data

Guide to records in the National Archives of the United States relating to American Indians / compiled by Edward E. Hill.
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 323.197 H55g
Publication Date: 1981-1982
I Have Spoken: American history through the voices of the Indians by Virginia I. Armstrong
Call Number: 970.1 Ar5i 1991
ISBN: 0804005303
Publication Date: 1971-01-01
The American Indian: Past and Present by Roger L. Nichols
Call Number: 973.0497 Am35n 1992
ISBN: 0070464995
Publication Date: 1991-10-01
Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas by Bruce G. Trigger (Editor); Wilcomb E. Washburn (Editor)
Call Number: 970.00497 C14
ISBN: 0521344409
Publication Date: 1996-10-28
Building the Past by Brian G. Redmond (Editor); Robert A. Genheimer (Editor)
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 977 B8688
ISBN: 9780813060408
Publication Date: 2015-03-10
"A significant contribution to the cultural history of the Ohio Valley and the archaeological literature on perishable architecture. The primary data and detailed descriptions of wooden post constructions make it a valuable resource."--Sissel Schroeder, University of Wisconsin-Madison