Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historical Newspaper Databases
Accessible Archives makes available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only in microformat, hard copy form or as images only.
Afro-American newspaper archives
This collection of historic African-American newspapers will be expanded over time. Coverage is primarily 20th century.
Center for Research Libraries
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has extensive runs of newspapers from around the world many of which cannot be located elsewhere in the US. They are great about allowing people to borrow long runs of a paper on microfilm for extended periods of time. Place requests through Interlibrary Loan.
Search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Google Newspaper Archive
Digital scans of historical newspapers from around the world.
Digital version of all issues of LIFE magazine from 1935-1970. An invaluable resource for studying American culture during this time period.
ProQuest Direct News & Newspapers
Direct link to search all 5 of the historical newspapers listed above. Also includes links to current newspapers: The Tennessean, Daily News Journal, Ethnic News Watch.
Current News Databases (Fulltext)
Search for Articles in Tennessee Newspapers
Sources for text-only copies of news articles.
FREE New York Times Digital Subscription
Thanks to a university-wide subscription, you have access to all the articles, breaking news, blogs, multimedia and more from The New York Times. Just follow three easy steps to create your account.