Walker Library: CDFS 4350: Parenting (Cook): Article Databases & Search Tools

Recommended Databases for Parenting Articles

Databases for general topic areas: good for most subjects, for exploring ideas, for gathering research on a variety of topic areas.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Fulltext multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals and other reports, 19th century to present.
Academic Search Ultimate is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 13,600 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 9,000. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's scholarly article search with full text links back to MTSU subscription resources.
JEWL Search This link opens in a new window
Search for books, articles, images, videos, scores, audio recordings, encyclopedia entries and more from a single search. Results include thousands of online resources in each category, as well as items physically held by the libraries on campus.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete full text (page images) for back issues of various leading scholarly journals.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Resource covering today's most relevant social issues in multiple media formats. Includes opinion pieces.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal with quantitative data from over 18,000 sources for media, business, finance, politics, and other topics. Export data in a variety of formats for direct use in presentations or reports.
Data is categorized into 21 market sectors. Data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Statista help and FAQ's
More about Statista data sources

Databases for topics related to: physical, emotional, and or mental health/well-being, psychological issues, mental/emotional development, etc.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for nursing and allied fields, 1937 to present.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Articles and reference sources on health topics. Funded by Tennessee Electronic Library. Previously titled Health & Wellness Resource Center.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for scholarly journals and reference information.
PsycARTICLES (from APA) This link opens in a new window
Online access to core journals of the American Psychological Association and its partners through the EBSCOhost platform.
PsycINFO (from APA) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for psychology and related fields, 1806 to present, on the EBSCOhost platform.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracting, and fulltext for journals in the sciences and social sciences.

Databases for topics related to: educational issues affecting children or parents, child development in relation to school/education, etc.

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for education, 1984 to present.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text education articles dating back to 1929.
Combines the contents of Education Abstracts, Education Index Retrospective and Education Full Text.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to over 750 educational journals, as well as conference proceedings, research reports, speeches, curriculum guides, etc.
ERIC Field Descriptions
ERIC Education Level & Publication Type Limits

Databases for topics related to: social issues, family life, current events, etc.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on leading national policy issues, 1991-present.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Resource covering today's most relevant social issues in multiple media formats. Includes opinion pieces.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracting, and fulltext for journals in the sciences and social sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and fulltext for social sciences literature, 1982 to present.
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal resource.

About Us

CDFS 4350: Parenting (Cook)

Recommended Databases for Parenting Articles