Walker Library: TXMD 4170: Cultural & Social Aspects of Clothing: Fashion Databases & Academic Journals

Fashion Databases available through Walker Library

For more databases, see the A-Z Resources page.

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from 1892 to the present.
See About for more information.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Image content and encyclopedia articles on world dress and fashion throughout history. Presented on the Bloomsbury Fashion Central platform.
The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
Digitized archive of WWD fashion magazine (1910 to 6 months ago).
Cross searchable with the Vogue Archive.
ProQuest Art, Design, and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts, 1973 - current
Databases Included:
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)
Art & Humanities Full Text
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items covering all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. 1973 to present.
Part of the ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection.

DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.

See Detailed Description for more information.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and fulltext for art journals, museum bulletins, etc., 1984 to present.
Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. Publication List
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals and magazines covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Part of the ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection. See Detailed Description for more information.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and science. Please note this warning for users who have a photosensitive seizure disorder.
Warning:
Content that flashes at certain frequencies can trigger seizures in individuals who have photosensitive seizure disorders. A small number of videos on Artstor display flashing at higher than recommended frequencies for viewers with such disorders. Artstor is currently exploring remediation. To avoid seizure, users with photosensitivity should contact Artstor support for more information prior to viewing videos.

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

Bloomsbury Fashion Central - Helpful Links for History & Images

Must log in with your MTSU credentials to view these links:

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Image content and encyclopedia articles on world dress and fashion throughout history. Presented on the Bloomsbury Fashion Central platform.
The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.

Fashion History by Time Period
Browse images and articles by time period, ranging from early ancient history to modern times. Seasonal images are also included.
Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress & Fashion
A ten-volume reference work that explores all aspects of dress and fashion on a global level, from pre-history to the present day.
Organizations & Design Houses
View an alphabetical list of design houses, companies, and well-known organizations.
Image Collections - Berg Fashion Library
Includes a color image bank of over 17,000 fashion-related images.

TXMD 4170: Cultural & Social Aspects of Clothing: Fashion Databases & Academic Journals

Fashion Research

Fashion Databases available through Walker Library

Bloomsbury Fashion Central - Helpful Links for History & Images

Selected Fashion & Textile Journals

About Us

TXMD 4170: Cultural & Social Aspects of Clothing: Fashion Databases & Academic Journals

Fashion Research

Fashion Databases available through Walker Library

Bloomsbury Fashion Central - Helpful Links for History & Images

Selected Fashion & Textile Journals