*Literature

An online collection of approximately 3,700 books of high quality in the humanities. These titles are offered by the ACLS in collaboration with twenty-seven learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and the MPublishing Division of the University of Michigan Library. 

The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
Title List (Excel)

Full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period. This unique collection of American fictional prose is sponsored by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the University of Virginia Library, and published by ProQuest in collaboration with the University of Virginia.

Adobe Digital Editions software (free download) is required in order to download an ebook onto your computer for offline reading.

Downloading ebooks from eBook Collection Tutorial (3 min video)

Adobe Digital Editions software (free download) is required in order to download a complete Ebrary book onto your computer.

Ebrary Download Help
Ebrary Quick Start Guide (pdf)
Ebrary Mobile App Options

Includes works printed in Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Welsh.

Content includes digitized images of all the works listed in these key bibliographic records of English literature: The Short-Title Catalogue (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); The Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700); The Thomason Tracts; and the Early English Books Tract Supplements, as well as original almanacs, pamphlets, musical scores, prayer books and other intriguing primary sources. See ProQuest's EEBO LibGuide for more content details and a user guide.

Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift. In addition to a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, the collection also contains two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela, and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.

More about Evans, the AAS Supplement, and the Library Company of Philadelphia supplement.

Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature.