Digital images of extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.
The core of China: Culture and Society is the pamphlets held in the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia housed in the Carl A. Kroch Library of Cornell University. Mostly in English and published between c. 1750 and 1929, and amounting to around 1,200 items in 220 bound volumes, these rare pamphlets form part of one of the deepest and most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world and constitute a rich resource for scholars and teachers in numerous disciplines.
The pamphlets have all been digitized in color and are full-text searchable. Many are illustrated and feature lavish cover art.
Full-text searchable database of British Government documents generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices based in Latin America.
All items marked “Confidential Print” were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. These materials range from letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. Files cover all countries of mainland South and Central America, plus Haiti, the Dominican Republic and Cuba.
Full-text searchable database of British Government documents generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices based in the Middle East.
All items marked “Confidential Print” were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. These materials range from letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. The collection covers c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan.
Page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.
Content includes digitized images of all the works listed in these key bibliographic records of English literature: The Short-Title Catalogue (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); The Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700); The Thomason Tracts; and the Early English Books Tract Supplements, as well as original almanacs, pamphlets, musical scores, prayer books and other intriguing primary sources. See ProQuest's EEBO LibGuide for more content details and a user guide.
Complete British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan during 1919-1980.
The quality and depth of the Foreign Office’s reporting on politics, industry, trade and cultural affairs is formidable. This collection includes
*Eye-witness accounts and detailed reports on life in China, 1919-1976.
*In depth analysis of the Communist Revolution and all the major figures.
*Material on the Korean War, the Cold War, US relations and the Cultural Revolution.
The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with 36 affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel.
The Grand Tour is a wonderful source of information about daily life in the eighteenth century, highlighting such everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex.
The material also covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent, and is an invaluable resource for the study of Europe’s urban spaces.
There is a wealth of detail about cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva, including written accounts and visual representations of street life, architecture and urban planning.
Color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.
Material found in the resource includes:
Street ephemera – posters, advertising, playbills, ballads and broadsides
A complete collection of Tallis’ Street Views
Swell’s guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens
Tourist guides and topography
Manuscripts of George Gissing
There is a strong emphasis on rare or unique material, particularly in the range of ephemera and street literature available. There is also an emphasis on visual material.
The documents are drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library, the rare books, manuscripts, and special collections library of the Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington.
Resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
* Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema
* Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment
* Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
* Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic
See Nature and Scope for more information.
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and science. Please note this warning for users who have a photosensitive seizure disorder.
Content that flashes at certain frequencies can trigger seizures in individuals who have photosensitive seizure disorders. A small number of videos on Artstor display flashing at higher than recommended frequencies for viewers with such disorders. Artstor is currently exploring remediation. To avoid seizure, users with photosensitivity should contact Artstor support for more information prior to viewing videos.
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs and contemporary studies covering human behavior the world over.
Ethnographic Video Online contains more than 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Title List (Excel file) (MTSU offers Volume I titles)