Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

Live chat assistance available 8:00am-4:30pm, Monday-Friday

Need to Report a Noise or Building Issue?
Send an email
Search FAQs and Get More Help

PRST 4995: Senior Capstone: Finding Peer Reviewed Articles

A refresher for senior capstone papers

Scholarly Sources and Peer Review: A Note

Keep in mind: The adjectives scholarly, academic and peer reviewed are often used as synonyms. In its strictest sense, peer review is a process that may or may not be applied to a scholarly or academic journal article. Thus, a peer reviewed article is scholarly or academic in nature, but an article that is scholarly or academic in nature may not have undergone peer review. Many scholarly journal articles do undergo peer review, hence the tendency to use the terms interchangeably. In most cases, if a library database tags an article as scholarly or academic, the article is probably also peer reviewed. If you feel the need to double check, you can ask a librarian for help.

To further confuse the matter, certain books and book chapters can be considered scholarly sources, depending upon the author, content and intended audience (here's a scholarly humanities book and a scholarly science book). Peer review, however, is a process only applied to journal articles and is not applied to books and book chapters.

For a given assignment, always check with your professor if you are unsure about the types of outside information sources that are acceptable for use. 

Find Articles by Topic or Title in JEWL Search

Limit Your Results:      

Browse journals and articles by subject

How to Find Scholarly Peer Reviewed Articles

Scholarly peer reviewed articles are included in many library databases. Use a research guide to find the best database for your subject or use the library's JEWL Search. You can also use the library's Databases A-Z tool to find a list of library databases by subject or discipline.

1. Enter your keywords / topics. 

2.  On the search results page, use the filters in the left column under the "Limit To" menu:

  • Select "Scholarly/Peer Reviewed/Academic"
  • Select "Online Only (Full Text)" to view results from the online databases with full-text links to the article PDFs.  
  • Select "Online + Print" to view results from both the online databases and the print journals owned by the library. 
  • An optional "Publication Date" limiter is also available.

 

What is a Peer Reviewed Article?

This video--courtesy of Vanderbilt University--explains the difference between scholarly journals and popular magazines. (3:10)