Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Numbers at a Glance
3rd Floor (Main Collection & Curriculum)
700 The arts; fine & decorative arts
710 Civic & landscape art
730 Plastic arts; sculpture
740 Drawing & decorative arts
750 Painting & paintings
760 Graphic arts; printimaking & prints
770 Photography, photographs & computer art
Detailed list of 700 class call numbers
If the MTSU Libraries don't have a book you need, we can probably get it for you for free through Interlibrary Loan.
You don't need to know which library has a book in order to use Interlibrary Loan. We will figure that out for you. However, if you check Worldcat and find that several local libraries own the item you need, you can assume that the book will come more quickly than if only a few distant libraries own it.
Use Interlibrary Loan.
Reference Books and Ebooks -- Background Information
Learn more about artists, pieces of art, themes, and concepts.
Oxford Reference: Art and Architecture
Contains 16 art encyclopedias including: Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture, Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts, Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture, Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art, Oxford Dictionary of Art, and Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists.
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. The Portal is free to all users.
Art and Architecture Thesaurus
Structured vocabulary of more than 34,000 concepts, including terms, descriptions, citations, and other info relating to fine arts, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture. Produced and maintained by the Getty Vocabulary Program.
Grove Dictionary of Art (in print)
34 volume set includes encyclopedia length articles on every aspect of art and artists. Located in the Reference section on the first floor, call number R 703 D561.
Writing About Visual Art (ebook)
Contains chapters on writing narratives for museum and art gallery settings. Might be helpful to describe your exhibit.