Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Numbers at a Glance
3rd Floor (Main Collection & Curriculum)
700 The arts; fine & decorative arts
710 Civic & landscape art
730 Plastic arts; sculpture
740 Drawing & decorative arts
750 Painting & paintings
760 Graphic arts; printimaking & prints
770 Photography, photographs & computer art
Detailed list of 700 class call numbers
If the MTSU Libraries don't have a book you need, we can probably get it for you for free through Interlibrary Loan.
You don't need to know which library has a book in order to use Interlibrary Loan. We will figure that out for you. However, if you check Worldcat and find that several local libraries own the item you need, you can assume that the book will come more quickly than if only a few distant libraries own it.
Use Interlibrary Loan.
Reference Books and Ebooks -- Background Information
Learn more about artists, pieces of art, themes, and concepts.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art by The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art deals with all aspects of Northern Renaissance art ranging from artists, architecture, and patrons to the cities and centers of production vital to the flourishing of art in this period. This encyclopedia draws upon the unsurpassed scholarshipon the Renaissance in Northern Europe in The Dictionary of Art in addition to dozens of new entries. Comprehensive and engaging, this resource is an accessible reference for students, researchers and scholars researching in this important area.The volumes cover all subject areas in Northern Renaissance art including: biographies of artists, artisans, architects, craftsmen, philosophers, rulers, archaeologists, and historians; countries, cities and centers of production; art forms and architectural monuments and styles; theory, criticism,historiography, collecting, patronage and more. It addresses people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, including, for example, the diverse geographical regions that now encompass the modern nations of Germany, Austria, France, England, the Netherlands,Belgium, Scandinavia, Poland, and Russia. The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art provides unparalleled scope and depth in this field, which has inspired and informed Western art for centuries. It offers fully updated articles and bibliography as well as more than 500 illustrations, maps,drawings, diagrams and color plates.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. The Portal is free to all users.
Art and Architecture Thesaurus
Structured vocabulary of more than 34,000 concepts, including terms, descriptions, citations, and other info relating to fine arts, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture. Produced and maintained by the Getty Vocabulary Program.
Writing About Visual Art (ebook)
Contains chapters on writing narratives for museum and art gallery settings. Might be helpful to describe your exhibit.