Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

African Americans in Tennessee: Microfilm Collections

Microfilm Collections

Commission on Interracial Cooperation, 1919-1944 MFM 1280
The Commission on Interracial Cooperation (CIC) was formed in response to the race riots that followed World War I, and included a moderate coalition of blacks and whites. This collection includes correspondence, minutes of CIC meetings, pamphlets and reports, and CIC educational material.

Congress of Racial Equality Papers: Addendum, 1944-1968 MFM 1288

General Education Board: The Early Southern Program MFM 1282

Key source materials on the history of African-American education in the twentieth century.

New Deal Agencies and Black America MFM 1165
This collection contains the major portion of National Archives materials which relate to the New Deal-black experience between 1933 and 1940, with a few instances of records extending to 1943. Materials come from the files of the Office of Education, National Youth Administration, Department of Interior, Civilian Conservation Corps, U.S. Employment Service of the Department of Labor, Office of the Secretary of the Department of Labor, National Recovery Administration, Department of Commerce, and Works Progress Administration. Part of "Black Studies Research Sources" series.

Peonage Files of the U.S. Department of Justice, 1901-1945 MFM 1164 A federal statute of 1867 outlawed peonage, but it was not enforced until 1898. Peonage is a form of labor control that relies on debt to compel a worker. This microfilm publication, primarily from records in the National Archives, is rich in legal, social, and labor history. It contains fresh material on federal prosecutions under the peonage statute; it illuminates the uses of power, especially of local law enforcement officials who often sided with employers to compel workers to pay off their debts or remain at work; and it demonstrates the aggressive although often futile attempts of the Justice Department and Supreme Court to stop the practice. While most complaints involved black rural workers, at times immigrants, coal miners, and others from among the poor and ill-educated fell victim to peonage. Part of the "Black Studies Research Sources" series.

Race, Slavery, and Free Blacks. Series II, Petitions to Southern County Courts, 1775-1867 (MFM 1383)
Reproduces a collection of approx. 15,000 petitions assembled by the Race and Slavery Petitions Project, University of North Carolina at Greensboro from selected state archives.

Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, 1895-1992 (MFM 1274)
This collection includes the NACW convention minutes from 1895-1992 and the President's Office Files, 1958-1968. Press coverage of NACW activities from 1899-1939 is also included.

Selected Records of the Tennessee Field Office of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1865-1872 MFM 468
These records include letters sent by the Assistant Commissioner, the Superintendent of Education, the Chief Medical Officer, and the General Claims Agent as well as office records and reports, leases for abandoned property, and labor contracts. Excellent source material for the period covered.