Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
2106 E Main St, Murfreesboro, TN 37130
Books about Domestic Violence
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This book provides a timely and thorough reference for educators, students, scholars and activists seeking to better understand the global issue of domestic abuse. The entries document the history of the domestic violence prevention movement, provide explanations for abuse, identify warning signs of hidden abuse, describe types of victims and offenders, and supply information on interventions and prevention programs.
Domestic Violence: a reference handbook by
Publication Date: 2008-01-08
This thoroughly revised second edition is an examination of domestic violence from social, legal, and historical perspectives.
Here are some reference books. To find more books about this subject, click on the "Book" tab.
Domestic Violence Sourcebook by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 616 H348 v. 97
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Basic Consumer Health Information about the Causes and Consequences of Abusive Relationships, Including Physical Violence, Sexual Assault, Battery, Stalking, and Emotional Abuse, and Facts about the Effects of Violence on Women, Men, Young Adults, and the Elderly, with Reports about Domestic Violence in Selected Populations, and Featuring Facts about Medical Care, Victim Assistance and Protection, Prevention Strategies, Mental Health Services, and Legal Issues Along with a Glossary of Related Terms and Resources for Additional Help and Information.
NYT -Violence against Women act RSS feed
October: Domestic Violence Awareness Month
Domestic Violence Awareness Month
In October 1987, the first Domestic Violence Awareness Month was held. In conjunction, that same year the first national toll-free hotline was begun. In 1989, Congress passed the first Domestic Violence Awareness Month commemorative legislation. Such legislation has been passed every year since 1989
You can search for books and/or journals articles in the search box below. Some of the search terms you might use are family violence, domestic violence, partner abuse, child abuse, spousal abuse, battering, elder abuse, dating violence, date rape, abusive relationships, marital violence.
Search Proquest for more articles
Search Social Services Abstracts, PILOTS, ERIC, Sociological Abstracts, Tennessean, Dissertations and Theses and Ethnic Newswatch.
Most of these databases are included in the EBSCO and ProQuest searches.
Indexing and fulltext for nursing and allied fields, 1937 to present.
Indexing and abstracting for psychology and related fields, 1806 to present.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Abstracts of books, articles, government reports, dissertations, etc., 1968 to present.
Online access to core journals of the American Psychological Association and its partners.
Social Work Abstracts
Index to journals in all areas of social work and human services.
Social Services Abstracts
Abstracts for journals in social work, human services, social welfare, etc.
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology (journal articles, dissertations, books, papers, etc.)
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexing and fulltext for social sciences literature, 1982 to present.
Indexing, abstracting, and fulltext for journals in the sciences and social sciences.
Complete full text (page images) for back issues of various leading scholarly journals.
National Coalitlion Against Domestic Violence
The National Coalition Against Domestic Violence (NCADV), has worked since 1978 to make every home a safe home. NCADV works to raise awareness about domestic violence; to educate and create programming and technical assistance, to assist the public in addressing the issue, and to support those impacted by domestic violence
Safe Horizon is the largest victims’ services agency in the United States, touching the lives of more than 250,000 children, adults, and families affected by crime and abuse throughout New York City each year. We offer assistance to victims through 57 program locations, including shelter, in-person counseling, legal services, and more
AARDVARC An Abuse, Rape, and Domestic Violence Aid and resource center
This site is for victims of violence, their families and friends, and the agencies and programs which serve them, both public and private. The goal of this website is to assist efforts to aid and support those trying to remove themselves from abusive situations and build healthier, stronger lives. For individuals, we hope to provide general educational and reference material as well as a comprehensive nationwide directory of services for "one stop shopping".
Live your dream.org
This site has four "Ted Talks" with personal stories of domestic abuse. "
The four Ted Talks discuss domestic violence from multiple perspectives, helping us to better understand this complex issue.
, Business Communication & Education
, Communication Studies
, Distance Learning
, Mass Communication
, Media Arts (Electronic Media Communication)
, Public Relations
, Social Work
, Statistics & Data
Domestic Violence report from CQ Researcher, etc
Overview of the topic, interesting viewpoints, related topics. Includes information from articles, media, statistics, etc.
Government Statistics and Info for Domestic Violence
Search for government statistics and information on google like this: domestic violence statistics site: gov
Alexander Street Press Academic Video
Single, integrated, modular platform for streaming video in subject areas including history, dance, education, sports medicine, theatre, and more.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Videos on the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology and psychiatric counseling.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Watch thousands of streaming films, documentaries and training videos from PBS, Criterion Collection, and other leading producers.
Top Documentary Films
151 results for domestic violence