The Library's print collection includes many plays in individual volumes, and many more that are published in collections, or anthologies.
To find a specific play use the "Books" option in the library search box to enter the play title, placing quotes around the title, e.g. "raisin in the sun." This will find that title in a stand-alone edition or as part of an anthology. You might also find critical works about the play.
If you don't find the play you need in the catalog try Play Index AND Inter-Play listed to the right. The catalog records for some anthologies don't include detailed title information but you can find the titles through Play Index or Inter-Play.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance is an unparalleled resource, providing comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date information about theatre and performance internationally, through history and in the present in an accessible format. Available in print and as an e-referencetext from Oxford's Digital Reference Shelf, the 4,300 entries total well over a million words and are complemented by over 100 illustrations. Coverage ranges from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. The Encyclopedia pays specialattention to non-Western styles through articles on theatre and performance throughout the many countries and traditions of Asia and Africa, often written by practitioners or critics from those areas. Dance, opera, performance art, radio, film, and television are covered at length. The Encyclopediaalso embraces para-theatrical, non-drammatic, and popular performance, including ritual, carnivals, parades, the circus, and public executions. Biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures from the past and present: actors, playwrights, directors, designers, and critics. Innovativeentries on cities and regions place performance in its local social and political context.A particular feature of the Encyclopedia is the series of entries on concepts, theories, and critical approaches to theatre and performance, from short definitions of terms to lengthy considerations of genres, and from detailed discussion of movements such as feminism and psychoanalytic criticism todiscussions of semiotics and post-colonial studies. While remaining thoroughly accessible in language and approach, the Encyclopedia takes advantage of the theoretical and historiographical developments in the field, using signed entries by the best scholars and writers available.
The New York Times Guide to the Arts of the 20th Century by
Reviews, news articles, interviews and essays capturing 100 years of art, architecture, literature, music, dance, theater, film and television.
Find plays in anthologies and periodicals published 1949 to the present.
Streaming video of almost 1,600 videos aired on PBS, including series such as NOVA, Nature, American Experience, etc.
