Walker Library: DANC 4290: Dance for the Camera: Streaming Music

Music Online

Music Online provides streaming access to over 8 million tracks in all the key music genres:

Classical: All major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.

Jazz: All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more.

American: Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing.

Popular: This collection offers a wide range of popular music from around the world that is not available in our genre-specific collections.

Music Online includes several albums of sound effects. Simply enter sound effects in the search box.

Music Online (from Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches several music databases for text, video, and audio.
Searches African American Music Reference, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library and The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online. Includes streaming audio.

Use of these services from off-campus requires you to sign in with your Pipeline information.

Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
A large multi-label database of Classical music recordings. Includes recordings from Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music from early times to the present with a repertoire of vocal and choral music, opera, orchestral, chamber and solo instrumental
Unlimited simultaneous users permitted.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
The world´s largest online classical music library. The contents can be searched by composer, work, genre and label; by keyword search and by a sophisticated advanced search engine with up to 11 combined search criteria. In addition to allowing subscribers to listen to recordings, NML provides liner notes for most recordings. Listeners can create personalized playlists or use predefined Naxos Music Library playlists. Instructors: Contact Grover Baker for account details necessary to create playlists.
Creating Playlists
Mobile Access
Instructors: Contact Grover Baker for account details necessary to create playlists.
Creating Playlists
Mobile Access
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio with 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 6,000 albums. 15 simultaneous users.
User Instructions
FAQ
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Short streaming examples of musical forms covered in the text of the encyclopedia.

SoundCloud is a social sound platform where anyone can create sounds and share them everywhere.

Sound Recordings at the Library of Congress
Approximately 25 collections of recorded sound, including some spoken word.
Cylinder preservation and digitization project
8,000+ cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections at the Univ. of California-Santa Barbara
Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection
Online access to approximately 1400 cylinder recordings, with more to be added.
South Africa Music Archive Project (SAMAP)
13,000+ audio files from a mix of private and institutional collections.
Internet Archive Audio
More than two hundred thousand free digital recordings including major performer concerts, radio shows, original music uploaded by users, and more. Many are available for free download.
Free Music Archive
A library of high-quality, legal audio downloads of contemporary music in many genres. Provided by WFMU-FM.