Walker Library: DANC 4290: Dance for the Camera: Listening/Viewing Center

Hours

Fall Semester 2023

Monday - Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday

   9:00 a.m.-9:00 p.m.
   9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
   Closed
   2:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.

Finale

Need access to Finale when the Music Comper Lab in SFA is closed? Finale is loaded on the two listening station computers in the LVC. Note our hours above.

LVC Images

About the Listening/Viewing Center

The Listening/Viewing Center offers access to a vast collection of LPs, CDs, DVDs, streaming audio tracks, and streaming videos, as well as two listening/viewing stations, each equipped with a turntable, headphones, a computer accessible with your MTMail login information, and an optical disc drive. An LVC assistant is always available during the area’s open hours to answer any questions regarding the library’s collection of musical scores or the use of the LVC and its many resources. The LVC is located on the 2nd floor of the library in room 201B.

Contact Us: (615) 898-5855

Map

Streaming Audio & Video

Music Online (from Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches several music databases for text, video, and audio.
Searches African American Music Reference, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library and The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online. Includes streaming audio.

Alexander Street Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
The AVON (Academic Videos Online) streaming platform provides on-demand access to over 60,000 streaming videos. Content providers include PBS, BBC, Sony Picture Classics, CNN, BBC, and more.
Detailed description of available AVON collections at https://video-alexanderstreet-com.ezproxy.mtsu.edu/collections.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
A collection of theatre, musical theatre, film, opera, dance, and music productions. Includes live performances, study guides, plot summaries, relationship guides, and interviews with cast members, directors, and crews.
Interactive Subject Catalog
Complete Table of Contents
Teaching with Digital Theatre+
Swank This link opens in a new window
Streaming collection of films and documentaries, both classic and contemporary. Content on this platform is leased solely for classroom use; see https://library.mtsu.edu/mediaresources/policy
Swank accessibility features, including captions
Sharing and assigning Swank films
Instructors can create a Swank account in order to search unlicensed titles. Please see the library's streaming film acquisition policy before requesting a film license.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Watch streaming films, documentaries, and training videos from Criterion Collection, Women Make Movies, First Run Features, and other leading producers. The library owns some titles on this platform, but most content is leased solely for classroom use; see https://library.mtsu.edu/mediaresources/policy
Kanopy Troubleshooting Guide
Kanopy Accessibility Statement
Creating playlists and/or clips (Must first create a Kanopy account)
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio with 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 6,000 albums. 15 simultaneous users.
User Instructions
FAQ
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming classical music database.
Instructors: Contact Grover Baker for account details necessary to create playlists.
Creating Playlists
Mobile Access
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio collection of classical music with more than 766,000 tracks.
Unlimited simultaneous users permitted.
Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Dance productions and documentaries by influential 20th century performers and dance companies.
Over 900 hours of productions and documentaries. Selections include ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are:
•Classic performances from top ballet companies
•Experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes
•Documentaries by and about leading choreographers
•Videos on dance training
•Other items covering a wide range of 20th and 21st century dance styles
Product Brochure (pdf)
Volume I Title List (Excel file)
Volume II Title List (Excel file)
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of world music.

About Us

DANC 4290: Dance for the Camera: Listening/Viewing Center

Hours

Finale

LVC Images

About the Listening/Viewing Center

Map

Streaming Audio & Video