Walker Library: Library Resources for Graduate Students: Cited Reference Searching

Cited Reference Searching

Cited reference searching is a means of identifying articles that have cited a particular author, article or book. A cited reference search can help:

determine who has cited specific authors or papers
discover how an idea has been confirmed, applied or developed over time
identify seminal papers on a topic
find researchers with common interests
assess the impact of a paper

Databases with Cited Reference Searching

Cited reference searching is available in a few databases, but not always for every article mentioned in the database. Scopus is the database with the most comprehensive cited reference listings.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Look for "Cited By" links in a list of search results.
Video Tutorials
Content Coverage Guide

PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. Search results in PMC will point to other PMC citing articles.
more...less...
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. Search results in PMC will point to other PMC citing articles.

EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Look for "Times Cited in this Database" links in the list of search results.
PsycINFO (from APA) This link opens in a new window
Look for "Times Cited in this Database" links in the list of search results.
Coverage List
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Many references in Google Scholar include a "cited by" link to identify other resources that cite that reference. Keep in mind that Google Scholar may include more than one version of an article and there may be duplicates in the citing references among different versions of an article.

About Us

Library Resources for Graduate Students: Cited Reference Searching

Cited Reference Searching

Databases with Cited Reference Searching