News Sources - Historic & Current - UH 4600: Time Traveling Across the Disciplines (Bachman) - Walker Library at Middle Tennessee State University

Historical Newspapers

Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) This link opens in a new window
Database covering Anglo-American primary source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids. Provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images, with links to full-text where available.
8C includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Niles' Register; American Memory; links to images in ArtSTOR; plus many more. See full content list (click on Resource Descriptions)
African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
19th century African American newspapers in full-text searchable form with page images.
Titles in Collection:
The Christian Recorder
The Colored American/Weekly Advocate
Frederick Douglass' Paper
Freedom's Journal
The National Era
The North Star
Provincial Freeman

Afro-American newspaper archives
This collection of historic African-American newspapers will be expanded over time. Coverage is primarily 20th century.
Google Newspaper Archive
Digital scans of historical newspapers from around the world.

Historical Nashville Tennessean This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of The Nashville Tennessean newspaper, 1812-2002.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text digital archive of The New York Times, 1851-2018
Historical Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Fulltext digital archive of the Washington Post newspaper, 1877-2004.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover, full-color online archive includes every issue published.

Life Magazine
Digital version of all issues of LIFE magazine from 1935-1970. An invaluable resource for studying American culture during this time period.

Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2010 This link opens in a new window
Every complete page of every issue in full-text searchable format.
Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive, 1822-2006 This link opens in a new window
More than 600,000 full-text searchable pages, including all supplements.
*Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1966, when both papers came under common ownership. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019 This link opens in a new window
Complete online facsimile edition of every issue through 2019.

World News Digest This link opens in a new window
News summaries and background articles from 1940 to present, compiled by World News Digest staff from reliable news and information sources. Includes current news stories from Reuters.
Browse current news by topic
Details on information sources in WND
InfoTrac Newsstand (Now News from Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from national, international, state and local newspapers, 1980 to present. Funded by Tennessee Electronic Library.

World Politics Review This link opens in a new window
Original news and analysis on foreign policy, national security, and international affairs, 2006 to present. Subscription includes access to the WPR database, searchable through EBSCOhost.
Read about World Politics Review.