Walker Library: *Physics and Astronomy: Articles & Databases

Selected Journals, Physics & Astronomy

More Physics Journals

More Astronomy Journals

Recommended Physics & Astronomy Databases

These are library databases that will get you started on physics and astronomy research.

Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts, indexing and selected fulltext for scientific and technical publications.
Indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more. Vendor: EBSCO.

arXiv.org E-print archive
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistic that is funded by Cornell University Library. Continuously updated.

General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Popular magazines and professional journals for the sciences.
IOP Science (Institute of Physics) This link opens in a new window
A collection of scientific publications (journals, magazines and websites) published by the Institute of Physics (UK).
About the Institute of Physics
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracting, and fulltext for journals in the sciences and social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations from peer-reviewed literature and conference proceedings in Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Technology, Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Video Tutorials
Content Coverage Guide

Science Education Videos

JoVE Journal Biology This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed research in video format: Cellular biology, developmental biology, microbiology, immunology, plant biology, medicine, and neuroscience.
Articles that accompany videos can be downloaded in PDF form.
JoVE Science Education - Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology This link opens in a new window
15 videos demonstrate how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology.
Each video is paired with additional video resources for you to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.

Videos cover plasmid purification, the ELISA method, transfection, etc.
JoVE Science Education - General Laboratory Techniques This link opens in a new window
15 videos show to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments, as well as how to perform basic laboratory functions.
Each video is paired with additional video resources for you to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.

Videos cover centrifuge, light microscopy, working in the hood, making solutions, microplate reader, etc.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Watch streaming films, documentaries, and training videos from Criterion Collection, Women Make Movies, First Run Features, and other leading producers. The library owns some titles on this platform, but most content is leased solely for classroom use; see https://library.mtsu.edu/mediaresources/policy
Kanopy Troubleshooting Guide
Kanopy Accessibility Statement
Creating playlists and/or clips (Must first create a Kanopy account)

AIP Citation Style

AIP Style refers to the citation format established by the American Institute of Physics. AIP is the format commonly used in the field of physics. AIP is a numbered style with references numbered in the order of appearance in the article and listed in that order at the end of the article.

AIP Style Manual: Fourth Edition
American Institute of Physics provides free downloads of the AIP Style Guide for writing, editing, and preparing physics manuscripts for publication.

Physics & Astronomy Databases on the Web

These are open access and government databases that are available for physics research on the web.

Science.gov
Searches over 50 databases and over 2100 websites from 13 federal agencies of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development resutls.
Energy Citation Database (ECD)
The Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2,466,000 science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 300,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
Searches over 540,000 records and many full-text reports covering all aspects of aerospace-related research.
CERN Document Server
Searchable institutional repository that provides access to collections of documents produced by CERN.
International Nuclear Information System (INIS)
INIS is one of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology with online access to a unique set of non conventional literature (NCL) of over 280,000 full-text documents, such as scientific and technical reports, conference proceedings, patents and theses, not available through commercial channels.
Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information
The Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to over 298,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to DOE's mission.

About Us

*Physics and Astronomy: Articles & Databases

Selected Journals, Physics & Astronomy

Recommended Physics & Astronomy Databases

Science Education Videos

AIP Citation Style

Physics & Astronomy Databases on the Web