Biographies, articles and bibliographies for prominent people in all fields.
600,000+ biographical entries — on more than 528,000 individuals — spanning history and geography. Search by Name, Occupation, Nationality, Birth Place, or Death Place.
Periodical coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries).
• Coverage of more than 600,000 individuals
• Over 2.2 million records
• Links to over 300,000 related full-text articles, as well as abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals
• Over 35,000 images
• Substantive narrative profiles averaging 3,000 words in length
Chronicles the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music.
• Full text from major reference works
• Biographies and personal narratives from oral histories
• Manuscripts, song-sheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources
cover jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and
blues, gospel, and other forms of African American musical expression
Biographies of prominent deceased British men and women.
60,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, worldwide, from the earliest times to the twenty-first century.
Online collection of unique material for genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Includes 28,000 ebooks. Provided by Tennessee Electronic Library.
Need help getting started? Consult these Research Aids
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Spotlight Biography is the Smithsonian's virtual center-stage for famous and not-so-famous American artists and athletes, soldiers and scientists, inventors and social reformers, and other interesting people
