Walker Library: HIST 2020: Survey of US History, 1877-Present: Sports

MTSU Sports History

MTSU Memory includes images of many of the college's sports teams, including the Faulkinberry Boys of 1928.

Digital Collections

Baseball and Jackie Robinson

Indianapolis Motor Speedway Collection
(IUPUI University Library and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway)
More than 19,000 photographs document the history of the Indianapolis 500 from 1908 to the 2000s. Donald Davidson, Indianapolis Motor Speedway Historian, provides summaries of almost all of these races.
Caption and link to photo at left: Bert Dingley, 1912

History of Baseball
(Cleveland Public Library) The 75+ oral history interviews with players who were active during the 1930s sets this site apart from other online baseball collections.
John T. Majors: Tennessee Football Legend as Player and Coach
(Tennessee State Library and Archives)
The Johnson-Jeffries Fight: Photographs
(Nevada Historical Society / University of Nevada, Reno Libraries)
The historic boxing match between James J. Jeffries and Jack Johnson took place in Reno, Nevada on July 4, 1910.
LA84 Digital Collection
Includes extensive documentation of the Olympics.
Leadership and Legacy: Athletics and the University of Oregon
Ralph Metcalfe, The Olympic Years, 1932-1936
Photographs, newspaper clippings, and other printed materials documenting sprinter Ralph Metcalfe between 1932-1936, when the Marquette undergraduate was known as "The World's Fastest Human."

Historical Newspapers

Chronicling America (Library of Congress) View content from historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - searches the following historical newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Defender, New Amsterdam News, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, and the Washington Post. Users can limit a search to a specific date or date range under "Search Options."