Skip to Main Content

*Global Studies: GS 4010: Warfare & Culture

Primary Sources and Multimedia

Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy Troubleshooting Guide
Kanopy Accessibility Statement
Creating playlists and/or clips (Must first create a Kanopy account)
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
User your MTSU email address to create a personal account.
HSDL In Focus collections are items highly relevant to current events or foundational topics.
Alexander Street Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Detailed description of available AVON collections at https://video-alexanderstreet-com.ezproxy.mtsu.edu/collections.

American Civil War: Letters & Diaries This link opens in a new window
This release contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs. Particular care has been taken to index this material so it can be searched more thoroughly than ever. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. Includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor.

Books

Examples of a few recent books on the subject. Use the Library Catalog to find hundreds more!

The Routledge Handbook of the War of 1812 by Hickey and Clark (2016)
What Do We Know about Civil Wars? by Mason & McLaughlin (2016)
Call Number: Print book--click for location
Binary Bullets: The Ethics of Cyberwarfare by Allhoff (2016)
Call Number: Print Version and Ebook
Debating the Future of the 'Responsibility to Protect' by Ercan (2016)
Call Number: Print book--click for location
The Global Village Myth: Distance, War and the Limits of Power by Porter (2015)
Call Number: 2nd Floor--355 P8349g
America's Army: Making the All-Volunteer Force by Bailey (2009)
Culture in Conflict: Irregular Warfare, Culture Policy, and the Marine Corps by Holmes-Eber (2014)
Killing From the Inside Out: Moral Injury and Just War by Meagher (2014)
War's Ends: Human Rights, International Order, and the Ethics of Peace by Murphy (2014)
The Geographies of Peace: New Approaches to Boundaries, Diplomacy and Conflict Resolution by Megoran (2014)
Choosing War: Presidential Decisions in the Maine, Lusitania, and Panay Incidents by Peifer (2016)
Call Number: Print book--click for location

Articles

Journals, magazines, and newspapers.

JEWL Search
All subjects. Use the full-text limiter!
ProQuest Search
Sociology, business, and doctoral dissertations.

Military & Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
Articles and basic reference materials for military science, 1980s to present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's scholarly article search with full text links back to MTSU subscription resources.

Evolution of Warfare - Terminology

Jus ad bellum -- The justification of and limits to the use of force.

Jus in bello -- Laws and legal norms governing battle and occupation.

Jus post bellum -- Justice during war termination

Other views:

--What are Jus ad Bellum and Jus in Bello? (ICRC)

--Short explanations from the Crimes of War project.

--Geneva Conventions and Updated Commentaries (ICRC)

--Rules of War Video (ICRC)