Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

Library Awards & Grants

Robinson Award Nomination

Guidelines and Criteria

A student award in the amount of $500 will be provided during each award cycle to the selected candidate to help offset educational costs at MTSU. The award will be applied to the student’s MTSU financial account. Conveying of awards is based on availability of funds and qualified candidates.


Student employees of the Library Technology Department are eligible for this award if they are currently enrolled and in good standing with the University. For nominations submitted during the summer months, students must have worked during the spring semester and/or be employed during the summer term, and must be enrolled for the fall semester.


The award is based on excellent work performance in the Walker Library. The selection committee will consider such factors as the quality of service, creativity in work performance, dedication to work excellence, willingness to assist, positive professional attitude, and timely response to priorities.


Award recipients will be selected by a committee composed of two representatives from Walker Library Technology and one each from Library Administration, User Services, and Collection Development and Management. A meeting will be convened by the administration representative.


The Committee will meet prior to the beginning of the semester to review nominations. It is expected that one award will be given each fall and spring semester but the number of awards distributed will be dependent upon the nominations submitted and the funds available. Students will be notified in September and January as funds and qualified candidates are available. Funds will be distributed shortly after the committee makes its decision.


Students must be nominated by students, faculty, staff or visitors to MTSU.