Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA Style Guides in the Library
MLA Handbook (8th Edition) by
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016 (Reference Desk, 1st Floor)
Publication Date: 2016
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd edition) by
Call Number: 808.02 M69 2008 (Walker Library, 4th floor)
Publication Date: 2008
the Style Manual
has been taken out of print, and the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook
is the authoritative source for MLA style as of April 2016.
Additional information on MLA style may be found at these websites:
Online APA Resources
APA Style, 6th edition. Use only if your instructor directs you to do so. Otherwise, use the 7th edition links above.
What's the difference? Some key changes from 6th to 7th edition APA.
APA Style Manual in the Library
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th Edition) by The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 (Reference Desk, 1st floor)
Publication Date: 2019
About Chicago/Turabian Style
The Chicago Manual of Style offers two very different methods of citation:
The Notes and Bibliography (Humanities) style is preferred by many in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. More info.
The Author-Date system (click for examples) is used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences.Sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided. More info.
Online Chicago/Turabian Resources
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Full text of The Chicago Manual of Style guide to style, usage, and grammar--current 17th edition and previous 16th edition.
Chicago/Turabian Guides in the Library
Citation Management Software
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.
Zotero is a free browser plugin or standalone software that helps you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.