Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

HIST 2020: Survey of US History, 1877-Present: WWII

Presidential Libraries

Battles, Soldiers, Doctors, ...

Pearl Harbor: Stories from the Veterans History Project (Library of Congress)

World War II Collection (Portal to Texas History) includes a scrapbooks, letters, oral histories, and a large collection of photos from the The 12th Armored Division Memorial Museum.

The Home Front

After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor (Library of Congress) This collection includes twelve hours of opinions recorded in the days and months following the bombing of Pearl Harbor from more than two hundred individuals in cities and towns across the United States.

Center for Oak Ridge History (Oak Ridge Public Library)

Hollywood during World War II (Academy of Motion Pictures) A selection of rare documents, photographs, and ephemera related to Hollywood’s participation in the war effort. Topics include the Hollywood Canteen, war bond rallies, the military service of Hollywood figures, the First Motion Picture Unit, the Hollywood Victory Committee, and women during World War II.

The Real Rosie the Riviter (Tamiment Library, New York University) Videos of oral history interviews with 48 women who were employed in critical trades (e.g., shipbuilding and aircraft manufacturing) during World War II. 

Historical Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - searches the Atlanta Constitution, the New York Times, the Washington Post, and three African American newspapers: the Chicago Defender, New Amsterdam News, and the Norfolk Journal and Guide. Users can limit a search to a specific date or  date range under "Search Options." 

Historic Films

World War II Films

Tracing World War II includes more than 40 films from the National Archives, including "Marines Raise Flag Over Iwo Jima," "D-Day," and "Roosevelt Inspects U.S. Army Camps."

Fox Movietone News: The War Years (University of South Carolina) This collection includes more than 200 of the eight to ten minute newsreels that were released in American theaters from September 1942 to August 1944.

Government Posters and Publications

World War II Poster Collection (Northwestern University Library) includes more than 300 posters Issued by various U.S. government agencies.

Historic Government Publications from World War II ( 343 Informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office during the war.