Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

HIST 2020: Survey of US History, 1877-Present: 1877-1899

Digital Collections

Notable People

William F. Cody Archive 
(Buffalo Bill Center of the West and the University of Nebraska at Lincoln)
This site documents the life and times of William "Buffalo Bill" Cody with a wide variety of archival materials: memoirs and autobiographies, correspondence, business records, published and unpublished writings, photographs, video and audio recordings, promotional and Wild West material, newspaper and magazine articles. In addtion, three topics related to the Buffalo Bill's Wild West show are explored in detail: "Show Indians," "Rough Riders," and "European Tours."
Photo caption: William F. Cody, ca. 1876

Thomas Edison Papers includes more than 175,000 documents from the Thomas Edison National Historical Park, other repositories, and private collections.

John Muir Papers (University of the Pacific Library) This collection includes Muir's correspondence, journals, photographs, and drawings.

Historical Newspapers

Chronicling America (Library of Congress) View content from historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - searches the following historical newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Defender, New Amsterdam News, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, and the Washington Post. Users can limit a search to a specific date or  date range under "Search Options." 

Advertising

The Emergence of Advertising in American, 1850-1920
Duke University Libraries
More than 3300 advertisements from newspapers and magazines illustrate the rise of consumer culture and the emergence of the professionalized advertising industry in the United States. Browse options include company, product, date, format, publication, subject, medium, and headline. Brands such as Coca-Cola, Kodak, Pond's, and numerous cigarette companies  are well-represented in the collection. 

Maps

Sanborn Map detail

Fire Insurance Maps: Knoxville (University of Tennessee - Knoxville) includes "Sanborn" maps in full color from 1884, 1890, 1903, and 1917.

Digital Sanborn Maps: Tennessee - Detailed black and white maps of over 100 Tennessee towns and cities, 19th and 20th centuries.

Fire Insurance Maps (Library of Congress) Pre-1923 maps of towns in more than 25 states (but not Tennessee), as well as a guide for interpreting the maps.

"How the Other Half Lives"

Organized Charity. Minding the Baby, "A little mother"

Jacob A. Riis Photograph Collection (Museum of the City of New York) documents the squalid conditions of New York's poor neighborhoods that Riis also depicted in his book How the Other Half Lives (1890).

Documentaries