Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fermented Foods and Beverages of the World by Did you know? It's estimated that fermentation practices have been around since as early as 6000 BC, when wine was first being made in Caucasus and Mesopotamia. Today, there are roughly 5000 varieties of fermented foods and beverages prepared and consumed worldwide, which accounts for between five and forty percent of daily meals. Fermented Foods and Beverages of the World is an up-to-date review on fermentation practices, covering its storied past, cultural aspects, microbiology, biochemistry, nutrition, and functionality. With contributions from 24 seasoned fermentation authorities, this book begins with a concise introduction to food fermentation - one of the oldest biotechnological processes - including its history and global varieties. After covering the various preparation techniques and culinary methods, the book addresses the microbiology-phenotypic and genotypic characterizations, the identifications of functional microorganisms, the functional and technological properties, and issues related to food safety. The book also explores the functional properties of fermentation, how it improves product shelf life, ensures food safety, enriches nutritional supplements, and increases the probiotic functions in some foods. The rising popularity of probiotic and prebiotic foods and the health benefits they are known for are also discussed. Covering many undocumented minor or lesser-known ethnic fermented products, Fermented Foods and Beverages of the World is an all-in-one guide to global fermentation practices and consumption behaviors.
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Fermented Foods in Health and Disease Prevention by Fermented Foods in Health and Disease Prevention is the first scientific reference that addresses the properties of fermented foods in nutrition by examining their underlying microbiology, the specific characteristics of a wide variety of fermented foods, and their effects in health and disease. The current awareness of the link between diet and health drives growth in the industry, opening new commercial opportunities. Coverage in the book includes the role of microorganisms that are involved in the fermentation of bioactive and potentially toxic compounds, their contribution to health-promoting properties, and the safety of traditional fermented foods. Authored by worldwide scientists and researchers, this book provides the food industry with new insights on the development of value-added fermented foods products, while also presenting nutritionists and dieticians with a useful resource to help them develop strategies to assist in the prevention of disease or to slow its onset and severity. Provides a comprehensive review on current findings in the functional properties and safety of traditional fermented foods and their impact on health and disease prevention Identifies bioactive microorganisms and components in traditional fermented food Includes focused key facts, helpful glossaries, and summary points for each chapter Presents food processors and product developers with opportunities for the development of fermented food products Helps readers develop strategies that will assist in preventing or slowing disease onset and severity
Publication Date: 2016-09-12
Handbook of Vegetable Preservation and Processing by The second edition of a bestseller, Handbook of Vegetable Preservation and Processing compiles the latest developments and advances in the science and technology of processing and preservation of vegetables and vegetable products. It includes coverage of topics not found in similar books, such as nutritive and bioactive compounds of vegetables; veg
Publication Date: 2015-11-05
Wild Fermentation by "Wild Fermentation [has] become a manifesto and how-to manual for a generation of underground food activists."--The New Yorker The book that started the fermentation revolution, with recipes including kimchi, miso, sauerkraut, pickles, gundruk, kombucha, kvass, sourdough, paneer, yogurt, amazaké, and so much more! Sandor Ellix Katz, winner of a James Beard Award and New York Times bestselling author, whom Michael Pollan calls the "Johnny Appleseed of Fermentation" returns to his iconic, bestselling book with a fresh perspective, renewed enthusiasm, and expanded wisdom from his travels around the world. This self-described fermentation revivalist is perhaps best known simply as Sandorkraut, which describes his joyful and demystifying approach to making and eating fermented foods, the health benefits of which have helped launch a nutrition-based food revolution. Since its original publication, and aided by Katz's engaging and fervent workshop presentations, Wild Fermentation has inspired people to turn their kitchens into food labs: fermenting vegetables into sauerkraut, milk into cheese or yogurt, grains into sourdough bread, and much more. In turn, they've traded batches, shared recipes, and joined thousands of others on a journey of creating healthy food for themselves, their families, and their communities. Katz's work earned him the Craig Clairborne lifetime achievement award from the Southern Foodways Alliance, and he has been called "one of the unlikely rock stars of the American food scene" by The New York Times. This updated and revised edition, now with full color photos throughout, is sure to introduce a whole new generation to the flavors and health benefits of fermented foods. It features many brand-new recipes, including: Strawberry Kvass African Sorghum Beer Infinite Buckwheat Bread And many more! Updates on original recipes also reflect the author's ever-deepening knowledge of global food traditions. For Katz, his gateway to fermentation was sauerkraut. So open this book to find yours, and start a little food revolution right in your own kitchen! "A solid reference library will take you a long way in the fermentation game. By law (or just about), the first book in it should be the recently revised edition of Wild Fermentation by Sandor Katz. It provides know-how, recipes, [and] you-can-do-it spunk."--Wired Magazine More praise for Sandor Ellix Katz and his books: "The Art of Fermentation is an extraordinary book, and an impressive work of passion and scholarship."--Deborah Madison, author of Local Flavors "The fermenting bible." -- Newsweek "In a country almost clinically obsessed with sterilization Katz reminds us of the forgotten benefits of living in harmony with our microbial relatives." -- Grist
Publication Date: 2016-08-19
Handbook of Plant-Based Fermented Food and Beverage Technology by
Publication Date: 2012-05-17
Fermented food can be produced with inexpensive ingredients and simple techniques and makes a significant contribution to the human diet, especially in rural households and village communities worldwide. Progress in the biological and microbiological sciences involved in the manufacture of these foods has led to commercialization and heightened int
Browse for Books in the Library
Walker Library is moving from the Dewey Decimal System of classification to the Library of Congress (LC) system. During this process, we are using both systems, with LC books and Dewey books on different floors. You can find a specific book's location and call number in the Library Catalog.
LC Call Numbers (2nd floor)
TP368-456 Food Processing and Manufacture
TP500-660 Fermentation industries. Beverages. Alcohol
Dewey Call Numbers (4th floor)
663 Beverage Technology
664 Food Technology
Pediococcus spp.- homofermentative lactic acid bacteria. P. pentosaceus and P. acidilactici are used as starter cultures for fermented sausages, vegetables, and soy milk, as well as for inoculation of silage. P. pentosaceus produces bacteriocins.
(Source: Oxford Reference)