Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias, Guides and Dictionaries
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by
Call Number: 791.4301 C86p
Publication Date: 2000-12-19
This volume clearly and accessibly explains the major theoretical approaches now deployed in the study of the moving image as well as defining key theoretical terms. This dictionary provides readers with the conceptual apparatus to understand the often daunting language and terminologies of screen studies. It offers beginning students an introductory map of the field and more experienced students and scholars a refresher course on the basic concepts. It features: over 400 entries; entries range from 500 to 3000 words and aim to give a context to the debate surrounding the term rather than a simplistic definition; includes suggestions for further reading; and is fully indexed; and cross-referenced. literature.
The Film Encyclopedia by
Call Number: 791.43 K159f 1994
Publication Date: 1994-07-01
This comprehensive work covers world cinema, including American, United Kingdom, and international films. Also contains biographies of directors, composers , film editors, actors and actresses with filmographies for directors and major stars.
Film Noir by
Call Number: 791.43655 F48 1992
Publication Date: 1993-03-01
This source lists and describes American films meeting the criteria of the film Noir style. Appendices include a chronology; names of writers, producers, actors and actresses, a bibliography; and essays on film styles and Film Noir.
Dictionary of Film Terms by
Call Number: Reference 791.4303 B38d 2007
Publication Date: 2006-05-04
This updated, expanded edition includes descriptions of the latest developments in such areas as animation, special effects, and sound aesthetics and includes numerous stills from classic and contemporary films. A trusted, practical handbook, Dictionary of Film Terms clearly and concisely defines the essential terms of film analysis, appreciation, and production, with a special focus on the aesthetic values of filmmaking. Extensive cross-referencing among individual definitions ensures easy access to specific terms, and a comprehensive topical index relates to larger concepts of film art by grouping them under such wide-ranging categories as editing, cinematography, composition, and lighting. Dictionary of Film Terms is a valuable compendium of definitions of aesthetic techniques (ambient sound, camera angle, process shot), theoretical concepts (auteur criticism, film acting), styles (Hitchcockian, naturalist, neorealist), and genres (film noir, screwball comedy) that together comprise the language of motion-picture expression. Students of film and weekend movie buffs will find it a useful companion for better understanding the art of film.
The New York Times Encyclopedia of Film, 1896-1979 by
Call Number: Reference 791.43 N48e Vol. 1-10
Publication Date: 1984-06-12
Twelve volumes of chronological article reproduction from The New York Times between 189l6 -1979. A wide variety of topics are represented. No film reviews.
Oxford Companion to Film by
Call Number: Reference 791.43 )x2
Publication Date: 1976-05-20
(Preface) Arranged in alphabetical order, with entries for individual films, actors and actresses, directors, film genres, and brief surveys of the history of cinema art in individual countries.
Using the correct subject heading/ term can help find relevant material more effectively. For example, "film history" is the title of the class. However, subject headings used to find these Reference books used the phrase "motion pictures".
Remember that the terms you use to talk a topic / subject may not be the same as those used to searcha database such as the Library Catalog. See the sample headings below. subject headings used include the phrase "motion pictures" rather than "films".
Note: the links may change . You can enter the terms into the search box i.e. motion pictures indexes then choose Subject