Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Streaming Video Resources
Walker Library licenses access to streaming videos from a number of vendors.
- This list focuses on feature films and movies of interest to English 3870: Film History.
- All licensed video databases will be found in the Databases A-Z tab on the Library homepage.
For a more comprehensive guide to media at Walker Library see Media Resources.
MTSU Licensed sites:
- Swank Digital Campus (works best in Chrome)
- Streaming collection of films and documentaries both classic and contemporary.
- Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions providing students, faculty and staff, with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmakers and film distribution companies to offer collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection and more.
- BBC Shakespeare Plays
- Provides streaming access to Shakespeare plays produced by BBC between 1978 and 1985.
Other Streaming Sources (Note: MTSU is not responsible for content linked from free Internet sites. There is no guarantee of availability and functionality of the sites. )
- Feature Films (Internet Archive)
- 3,000 + films and documentaries
- Turner Classic Movie Database
- Supports searches for information about classic films worldwide; includes movie clips.
- UbuWeb Film & Video
- Presents hundreds of experiment/avant-garde films and videos in streaming format. International scope.
- YouTube has become the de facto respository for clips and full-length films of all kinds, including commerical releases. Some content has not been added legally, so content does disappear.