Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Film Studies Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate
- Full text for over 8,500 journals including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Covers the mid 1990s - present.
- JTSOR is an online collection of academic journals in all areas.
- Project MUSE
- Access to over 380 humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
- Communication & Mass Media
- Includes more than 300 periodicals, many with full text. An excellent source for placing film studies in a broader context.
- Entertainment Industry magazine Archive
- An archival research resource containing the essentail primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film fan magazines and music press titles.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- This database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and other specialized reference sources inluses a number of film studies texts, including the 10-volume History of American Cinema, the International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers and the Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film.
- American Film Scripts Online
- American Film Scripts Online is an ongoing full-text project which currently contains over 100 films by 200 writers. The database is full-text searchable and includes detailed indexing on scenes, characters, and people.
- Humanities Full Text
- Contains feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, fiction drama, and poetry; and reviews of movies, musicals, and plays among others.
- New York Times
- MTSU has made available free access to the New York Times current issues as well as the ability to search the complete backfile.
- Check the FAQ for more information.
(Adapted from the University of Pittsburgh)
Search for books, articles, images, videos, scores, audio recordings, encyclopedia entries and more from a single search. Results include thousands of online resources in each category, as well as items physically held by the libraries on campus.
Find a Journal - Journals A-Z
Journals A-Z is the best source to find out if the Library has access to a title. Searching Journals A-Z will give you results for online journals as well as print issues held in Walker Library.
For more details check out the Library FAQs below.
Film Studies: Reviews & Primary Sources (UW Bothell & Cascadia College)
This guide contains resources for:
- Compilation of Reviews & Primary Sources
- Primary Sources for Film Studies.
Select Film Studies E-Journals
This is a sample of e-journals related to film history/film studies at MTSU. There are other journals also available.
- Film Quarterly
- One of the premier English-language scholarly film journals. Peer-reviewed
- Film Comment
- A highly-respected film magazine published the the Film Society of Lincoln Center.
- Amerian Cinematographer
- The official magazine of the American Society of Cinematographers.
- Film Criticism
- An academic film studies journal published by Allegheny College
- An online film studies journal focusing on contemporary Russian cinema.
- Sight & Sound
- An important film magazine published by the British Film Institute
(Adapted from University of Pittsburgh)