Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

SW 4580 Social Work Practice 1: Home

Social Work issues

Images for Social Work

Get images you can use from ImageQuest

Social Work Podcast

Provides information on all things social work, including direct practice (both clinical and community organizing), research, policy, education... and everything in between.

News from NASW

Loading ...

Getting Started

To get a quick start in your research, use the search boxes below to search a number of databases related to Social Work at the same time.

 If you need further information, click on the "Articles and Databases" tab above. The "Articles and Databases" page has more information about our databases.

If you are looking for a particular journal, use the Journal Locator box below.  You can then enter the title of the journal, and you will be able to find out which databases have that journal. If you see the notation, "Walker Library," that means that we have the journal in the print collection on the first floor of the library.

Need help?  Contact information for me is underneath my photo. Or, use the "Chat" box.  Or, come see us at the reference desk.

Library Search

Want more search options? Advanced Search


Databases A-Z  | Journals A-Z  Library Catalog

Journals A-Z

           This search will not find individual articles.


  

Recommended Social Work Databases

These databases will get you started. For a complete list of Social Work databases, see the Articles & Databases tab.

Subject Guide

Sharon Parente's picture
Sharon Parente
Contact:
Walker Library 266F
(615) 898-2549

Ask Us!

Other Contact Options
Call: 615-898-2817
Visit the Reference Desk: 1st floor
Email a Librarian

SAGE Research Databases

Systematic reviews versus meta-analysis

A systematic review is a thorough, comprehensive, and explicit way of interrogating the medical literature.  It typically involves several steps, including (1) asking an answerable question (often the most difficult step), (2) identifying one or more databases to search, (3) developing an explicit search strategy, (4) selecting titles, abstracts, and manuscripts based on explicit inclusion and exclusion criteria, and (5) abstracting data in a standardized format. 

A "meta-analysis" is a statistical approach to combine the data derived from a systematic-review.  Therefore, every meta-analysis should be based on an underlying systematic review, but not every systematic review leads to a meta-analysis.

http://www.researchcore.org/faq/answers.php?recID=5