Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!Toggle Chat Widget

HIST 2020: Survey of US History, 1877-Present: WWI

Digital Collections of Primary Sources

World War I Remembered: Stories from the Veterans History Project 
(Library of Congress)
This collection offers photographs and correspondence to tell the stories of 16 men who played a variety of important roles in the Great War. The stories of Lucius Byron Nash, pictured at left, and Charles Daniel Turner provide insight into the role of the Navy in World War I. Other stories feature ambulance drivers Richard Thomas Crump and Longshaw Kraus Porritt, and Otto Ferdinand Levin, who was wounded while on patrol on September 29, 1918 and died two days later.

Tennessee in World War I

The Tennessee State Library and Archives offers three online collections that document Tennesseans during World War I:

Alvin C. York Collection 

Puryear Family Photograph Albums (1890-1946) documents the careers in the United States Army Air Service during and after World War I of two brothers from Gallatin, Tennessee. George Wright Puryear, a fighter pilot with the 95th Aero Squadron, became the first American officer to escape from a German prisoner of war camp. Alfred Isaac Puryear spent the war stationed in Paris, France, as a supply officer with the Army Air Service, and became an airship (dirigible) pilot after the war. 

Tennessee in World War I  includes 90 photographs from TSLA's collection.

Historical Newspapers

The Stars and Stripes:  the American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I (Library of Congress) eight-page weekly featured news from home, sports news, poetry, and cartoons, with a staff that included journalists Alexander Woollcott, Harold Ross, and Grantland Rice. 

 

 

Chronicling America (Library of Congress) View content from historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - searches the following historical newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Defender, New Amsterdam News, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, and the Washington Post. Users can limit a search to a specific date or  date range under "Search Options." 

Music Collections

James Edward Myers World War I Sheet Music Collection ( includes more than 900 pieces of sheet music created by a variety of Americans: professional songwriters, acclaimed composers, church musicians, small-town bandmasters, and singing teachers.

 

 

 

 

Poster Collections

World War I Poster

World War I Posters
This collection includes 1,900 posters created between 1914 and 1920. Most of the posters were printed in the United States.

War Posters Search ( University of Minnesota Libraries and the Hennepin County Librar) Select "World War I (1914-1918)" from the "Limit by Time Period" menu.