Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Native American History by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 970.00497 En1m
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
The three-volume Encyclopedia of Native American History offers a comprehensive and authoritative look at the most important individuals, events, and topics in American Indian history. Researchers and students alike will benefit from the in-depth coverage of tribes, notable leaders and events, customs, dress, dwellings, weapons, government, religion, and more.
A few of the reference books at Walker library. Most are under the call number 970.00497
Handbook of North American Indians by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 970.1 H19 v.2-17
Publication Date: Washington, Smithsoian Institution 1978--
Ethnographic bibliography of North America by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 970.1 M94e 1975
Publication Date: 1975-01-01
Encyclopedia of American Indian History by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 970.00497 En19j
Publication Date: 2007-07-23
American Indian Tribes by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 970.00497 Am3s
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
This title focuses on the North American Indian tribes. Major Mesoamerican groups such as the Aztec, Maya, and Toltec are also included. Topics covered include: festivals and pow-wows, populations of US reservations, organizations, agencies, societies and a list of tribes by culture area
American Indian Culture by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 970.00497 Am3b
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
American Indian Culture covers the range of North American Indian culture from lifeways, religious rituals and material culture to art forms and modern social phenomena. The 275 articles span the 10 North American culture areas from the Arctic to the Plains to the Southeast
Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism by
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 615.882 L99s
Publication Date: 1998-12-11
Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism focuses on "medicine" or sacred ceremonies conducted through shamans in which the power of the Creator is made manifest for all to behold.
Click on Library Catalog to begin a search for books at Walker Library. You can search by subject using Indians of North America as a search term. You can search by keyword. Books on Native Americans may be searched using the terms, Native Americans, Amerindians, Indians, American Indians, First peoples, or by the name of a tribe. You can add additional search terms such as, Sioux and culture or North American Indians and music.
The library has over 10,000 resources on Native Americans. If you cannot find what you need, please contact the librarian at the reference desk, or use the Chat with a Librarian on the library web page. http://library.mtsu.edu/help
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
eBook Collection: The library's largest collection of full text electronic books.
Books by subject
Look for books about religion under the call number 299.7
Native American Literature 810.9897
Native American History 970.0049 and 970.1
Society, culture, myths, 970.3
That the Blood Stay Pure by
Publication Date: 2013-10-18
That the Blood Stay Pure traces the history and legacy of the commonwealth of Virginia's effort to maintain racial purity and its impact on the relations between African Americans and Native Americans. Arica L. Coleman tells the story of Virginia's racial purity campaign from the perspective of those who were disavowed or expelled from tribal communities due to their affiliation with people of African descent or because their physical attributes linked them to those of African ancestry
Conversations with Remarkable Native Americans by
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 323.1197 C76r
Publication Date: 2012-03-15
Please note that this book is available in print...and online. Click on the title to access the online edition.
Legends of American Indian Resistance by
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
"This book describes the plight of Native Americans from the 17th through the 20th century as they struggled to maintain their land, culture, and lives, and the major Indian leaders who resisted the inevitable result"--"
Daily Life of Native Americans in the Twentieth Century by
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 305.897 F58d
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Donald Fixico, one of the foremost scholars on Native Americans, details the day-to-day lives of these indigenous people in the 20th century. As they moved from living among tribes in the early 1900s to the cities of mainstream America after WWI and WWII, many Native Americans grappled with being both Indian and American. Through the decades they have learned to embrace a bi-cultural existence that continues today.
The Native Americans; Ethnology and backgrounds of the North American Indians by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 970.1 Sp3n 1977
Publication Date: 1977-01-01
Indian Voices by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 970.00497 Ow3i
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
In Indian Voices, Alison Owings takes readers on a fresh journey across America, east to west, north to south, and around again. Owings's most recent oral history--engagingly written in a style that entertains and informs--documents what Native Americans say about themselves, their daily lives, and the world around them.
Living Histories by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 979.01 C72l
Publication Date: 2010-11-16
This book is about the tangled relationship between Native peoples and archaeologists in the American Southwest.
Making the White Man's Indian by
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
The image in Hollywood movies of savage Indians attacking white settlers represents only one side of a very complicated picture. In fact sympathetic portrayals of Native Americans stood alongside those of hostile Indians in the silent films of D. W. Griffith and Cecil B. DeMille, and flourished during the early 1930s with Hollywood's cycle of pro-Indian adventures.
Coming Full Circle by
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Coming Full Circle is an interdisciplinary exploration of the relationships between spirituality and health in several contemporary Coast Salish and Chinook communities in western Washington from 1805 to 2005. Suzanne Crawford O’Brien examines how these communities define what it means to be healthy, and how recent tribal community–based health programs have applied this understanding to their missions and activities.
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 970.00497 D51b
Publication Date: 2002-02-19
Bones—the remains of ancient New World natives now lying in museums and university laboratories across the Americas—are at the center of the scientific and cultural battles described in this provocative book. These bones, award-winning investigative journalist Elaine Dewar asserts, challenge the accepted theory that the first Americans descend from a Mongoloid people who migrated across the Bering land bridge to Alaska at the end of the Ice Age 11,000 years ago
The World of Indigenous North America by
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 970.00497 W89
Publication Date: 2014-12-22
The World of Indigenous North America is a comprehensive look at issues that concern indigenous people in North America. Though no single volume can cover every tribe and every issue around this fertile area of inquiry, this book takes on the fields of law, archaeology, literature, socio-linguistics, geography, sciences, and gender studies, among others, in order to make sense of the Indigenous experience.
Shamanic Healing and Ritual Drama by
Call Number: 299.71144 H87s 2nd Floor
Publication Date: 1996-06-01
In this pioneering work one of the world's leading experts on Native American traditions offers a detailed survey of Native American practices and beliefs regarding health, medicine, and religion. In contrast to the sharp Euro-American division between medicine and religion, Native American medical beliefs and practices can only be assessed, says the author, in their relation to their religious ideas
, Criminal Justice
, Databases - New and Trial
, Dissertations & Theses
, Health & Human Performance
, Human Sciences
, Leisure, Sport, and Tourism Studies
, Nutrition & Food Science
, Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian
The North American Indian by Edward S. Curtis is one of the most significant and controversial representations of traditional American Indian culture ever produced.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Hathi trust Digital library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Books and other resources from 1810 to 2009. Amazing source available in full text.