Native Americans: Art and Literature

This website provides information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal websites

This list touches on just a few of the amazing Native American authors out there and can be a great starting point.....

Native American literature written in the 18th and 19th century is considered a literature of transition between the oral tradition which flourished before Europeans arrived on the continent and the beginning of the 1960’s when the Native American Renaissance began.

A collection of Native American Stories which tell of the culture of the Native American and the indigenous people of North America. Many of the stories are accompanied by pictures, paintings and many have videos - all bringing the life of Native American Stories to life and enabling a better understanding of each story.

The Native American Women Playwrights Archive is a collection of original materials by Native women playwrights of the Americas.

The collections of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock’s Sequoyah National Research Center constitute the largest assemblage of Native American expression in the world

MTSU has access to Vol. 16 through current issue. Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL) is the only journal in the United States that focuses exclusively on American Indian literatures

Access to only 3/1/1998 to 9/30 2011

The National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) has one of the most extensive collections of Native American arts and artifacts in the world—approximately 266,000 catalog records (825,000 items) representing over 12,000 years of history and more than 1,200 indigenous cultures throughout the Americas

The Charles and Valerie Diker collection of American Indian Art

Established in 2006, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical perspectives and analysis of indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books, the school curriculum, popular culture, and society. Scroll down for links to book reviews, Native media, and more.

Welcome to our store! Over the years, Oyate has read and reviewed thousands of books, videos, and recordings about American Indian, Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian, First Nations and Indigenous peoples

Welcome to Native American Pottery tab! This tab will assist you with research on history and styles of Native American pottery. You will find a combination of relevant journal articles and books. You will also find web resources and images of different styles of pottery.