Letters, diaries, memoirs describing cross-cultural encounters, 17th to 19th centuries.
Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Particular care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways. For example, you can identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700.
Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878
Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881
Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals, 1797-1904
Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895
General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889
Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878
Religious Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1801-1904
Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885
Full text digitized content of women's-related periodicals, 1733-1891.
Collections: Women's Periodicals of the 18th and 19th Century, 1733-1844
Women's Periodicals of the 19th Century, 1845-1865
Women's Periodicals of the 19th Century, 1866-1891 Detailed description and coverage lists
Indexing for articles and more for U.S. & Canadian history, 1960s to present. This bibliographic resource provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years. This source has proved to be an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.
Streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs and contemporary studies covering human behavior the world over.
Ethnographic Video Online contains more than 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Title List (Excel file) (MTSU offers Volume I titles)
Ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life, organized by regions, subregions, and cultures. Works best with Microsoft Edge or Firefox browser.
eHRAF content is from books, journal articles, dissertations, manuscripts and is indexed at the paragraph level using a subject classification system called the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). This allows for cross-cultural research by retrieving content about the same topic in multiple cultures.
Single, integrated, modular platform for the delivery and streaming of videos. A completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles, including discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more. Info on Native Americans on a variety of subjects.
Biographies of prominent deceased Americans. Offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women--from all eras and walks of life--whose lives have shaped the nation. Includes a SEARCH for biographies for persons of American Indian heritage.
Offers portraits of more than 19,000 men and women- from all eras and walks of life--whose lives have shaped the nation. Help page FAQs
Watch streaming films, documentaries, and training videos from Criterion Collection, Women Make Movies, First Run Features, and other leading producers. The library owns some titles on this platform, but most content is leased solely for classroom use; see https://library.mtsu.edu/mediaresources/policy