The Harvard Guide to African-American History by 
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by 
Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience by 
Voices of Multicultural America by 
Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration by 
Encyclopedia of African American Education by 
The SAGE Handbook of African American Education by 
CQ Researcher is a database that has very long articles on contemporary topics. Here are links to a few of the articles on education.
While the portrayals of Blacks by White actors in blackface provided limited and highly stereotypical African American roles and characters in mainstream films, the “all-colored cast” films purposefully showcased positive depictions of African Americans. These “race films” were produced for the segregated Black theaters across the country. In The Green-Eyed Monster (1919) and By Right of Birth (1921), the leading roles included bankers and businessmen. “Race films” also showcased Black actors as protagonists in western, dramatic, and romantic features. These films were created for and marketed to African American audiences.
Struggles for Equal Voice: The history of Afrian American media democracy by For general information about where your cultural/ethnic group originated, look in some of these country guides for quick information about history, culture, family, education, etc.
African American Migration from PBS
Explore History: The African-American Migration Story
From the transatlantic slave trade to today's New Great Migration, learn about the major African-American migrations and how those movements changed the course of American history. Go Now
Voices from the Days of Slavery
The Library of Congress's American Folklife Center online collection: Voices from the Days of Slavery: Former Slaves Tell Their Stories, available at Library's American Memory. http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/voices/
Memory Project
Standing on My Sisters' Shoulders
An award-winning documentary about courageous women in Mississippi during the Civil Rights Movement. Check out www.sisters-shoulders.org for additional information.
Black Women’s History Challenge
Take the Quiz
http://www.nwhp.org/resources/commemorations/black-womens-history-challenge/
Extended families have long been a strong support system within the African American community
Find many resources about African Americans in the database Student Resources and Opposing Viewpoints.
Resources include scholarly articles, magazines, reference, video, web sites, etc.
African American Foodways by 
Hog and Hominy by 19th century African American newspapers in full-text searchable form with page images.
