Walker Library: SW 3200: Cultural Diversity: Cuban Americans

Start here

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America 2014
ISBN: 9781414438061

You can also start with the long articles from these two books which have extensive information on all aspects of culture, history, etc for different cultural groups in the U.S.

Multicultural America: An Encyclopedia of the Newest Americans by Ronald H. Bayor (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 305.800973 M91b
ISBN: 9780313357862
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Great resource. For differenct ethnic groups gives background, chronology, immigration patterns, cultural assimilation, demographic profile, family life, etc.
Reference articles from encyclopedias

Info from Pew Research Center

Hispanics of Cuban Origin in the United States, 2013
Cuban immigration to U.S. surges as relations warm
The number of Cubans who have entered the U.S. has spiked dramatically since President Obama last year announced a renewal of ties with the island nation, a Pew Research Center analysis of government data has found.
Cubans shifting toward the Democratic Party
Cubans in the U.S. have long identified with or leaned toward the Republican Party, even as Hispanics overall have tilted Democrat. But the party affiliation of Cubans has undergone a shift over the past decade, according to a Pew Research Center analysis of survey data.

Cuban population profile

Selected Population Profile in the United States 2014
American Community Survey

Food

cuban food and recipes

education articles

Shapers of Their Destiny: A History of the Education of Cuban Children in the United States since 1959
Despite the significant presence of Cuban children in the U.S. public schools since the late 1950s, no historical interpretation of their educational experiences exists. This essay is the first to develop such an interpretation. It sketches, in broad strokes, the role that Cuban exiles and Cuban Americans played in shaping their children's education in the U.S. from the late 1950s to the 1990s.
Mi Voz, Mi Vida : Latino College Students Tell Their Life Stories
The fifteen Latino college students who tell their stories in this book come from a variety of socioeconomic, regional, and family backgrounds-they are young men and women of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Dominican, Central American, and South American descent
Unz Got Your Tongue: What Have We Lost with the English-only Mandates?
The article discusses the teaching experience of a Cuban-American teacher of fifth grade students and the impact of prohibiting the use of native language at schools in Massachusetts. The author considered that English-only movement deprived students of their right to bilingual education
A Mentor-Based Targeted Intervention for High-Risk Latino College Freshmen.
The study illustrates specific ways in which a mentoring program can promote positive academic outcomes by targeting students at high psychosocial risk.

Holidays

Holidays Like other Hispanic communities, Cuban Americans tend to observe traditional Roman Catholic holidays, such as Christmas and Easter. Cuban Americans may also celebrate Three Kings' Day (January 6), marking the day when the “three wise men” delivered gifts to Jesus Christ. Additionally, many Cubans celebrate All Saints' Day (November 1), commemorating those who have achieved sainthood, and All Souls' Day (November 2), sanctifying the souls that remain in purgatory. While celebration of the 1959 Cuban Revolution is a hotly contested issue among many Cuban Americans, many immigrants from Cuba observe Cuban Independence Day on May 20, celebrating the nation's independence from Spain.

From the Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America

Cuban Americans

Cuban Research Institute

This section of our website contains information on the Cuban population in the United States, including reports and data from several CRI faculty affiliates and links to various Cuban-American organizations and resources.

Books at Walker Library

Rhythms of Race : Cuban Musicians and the Making of Latino New York City and Miami, 1940-1960
Publication Date: Chapel Hill, NC : The University of North Carolina Press. 2015
Among the nearly 90,000 Cubans who settled in New York City and Miami in the 1940s and 1950s were numerous musicians and entertainers, black and white, who did more than fill dance halls with the rhythms of the rumba, mambo, and cha cha cha. In her history of music and race in midcentury America, Christina D. Abreu argues that these musicians, through their work in music festivals, nightclubs, social clubs, and television and film productions, played central roles in the development of Cuban, Afro-Cuban, Latino, and Afro-Latino identities and communities
Afro-Cuban Religious Arts by Kristine Juncker
Call Number: Walker Library - 3rd Floor
ISBN: 9780813049700
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2014
Long article on Cuban Americans including history, religion, family, immigration, etc.
Transcultural Health Care by Larry D. Purnell
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 362.1089 T68p 2013
ISBN: 9780803637054
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
Includes Cuban americans
Immigrants in American History: Arrival, Adaptation, and Integration
Life on the hyphen the cuban-American way by Perez Firmat, Gustavo
Publication Date: 2012 Austin U of Texas Press
Summoning the Spirits by Andrew Dawson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781848851627
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
Prophetic visions and the role of mediums; possession ceremonies and ecstatic trance; the social contexts and practices of invocation: these are a number of the intriguing topics addressed by this comprehensive undergraduate textbook, the first of its kind to offer a thorough overview of the fascinating and multifaceted subject of spirit possession.
The Cuban family : custom and change in an era of hardship / by Rosemarie Skaine.
Historical perspectives on the Cuban family -- Influences on today's Cuban family -- The impact of society on the Cuban family -- Cuban family rights and forms -- Politics, emigration, and families -- Emigration to the United States -- Cuban American families -- Family narratives of life in Cuba -- Family narratives of life in the United States -- Looking forward.

Web sites

Cuban-American Organizations and institutions
Organizations often have interesting information about the history and activities of a cultural group. This is a list of organizations from the Cuban Research Institutes at Florida international University.
Cuban Immigrants in the United States
From the Migration Policy Institute
From ‘I Love Lucy’ to pop music, Cuba’s influence on America runs deep
Now that the decades-long trade embargo between the U.S. and Cuba looks to be a thing of the past, Americans may soon be partying with Cuban goods like it’s 1959. Culturally, however, Cuba’s influence has been here all along

Media Portrayal

Cuban Americans, Latinos, and the Print Media--Shaping Ethinic Identitties
Sun Sentinel articles about Cuban Americans
Sun Sentinel is South Florida's top source for breaking news, weather and in-depth coverage of the Miami Dolphins, Miami Heat and other sports.
An unfortunate icon
Al Pacino's Scarface is 25 years old - and despite the clichés it captures the alienation that US blacks and Latinos still feel
From ‘I Love Lucy’ to pop music, Cuba’s influence on America runs deep

Family articles

Conceptions of Good Parent-Adolescent Relationships among Cuban American Teenagers.
This study was designed to explore Cuban American adolescents’ conceptions of good parent–adolescent relationships and the extent to which they reflect cultural values and gender roles.
The Elder in the Cuban American Family: Making Sense of the Real and Ideal
Much of the literature on family networks of Hispanic elders in the United States assumes that the family is the natural support network without considering the structural, cultural, and psychosocial impact of immigration, or exile, on the family.
Language in the Lives of Ethnic Minorities: Cuban American Families in Miami.
Working-class and middle-class mothers of Cuban heritage were questioned about their modes of accommodation to America in terms of language proficiencies Specifically, they were asked about their own language fluency, in both Spanish and English, and that of their children
Cuban American mothers and postpartum cultural support.
The purpose of this research study was to describe the experience of 30 Cuban American mothers from their perspective. The objective was to identify the cultural factors that influenced the postpartum adjustment of these women
Examining the Influence of Family Environments on Youth violence
A Comparison of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban,
Non-Latino Black, and Non-Latino White Adolescents

Databases

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life, organized by regions, subregions, and cultures. Works best with Microsoft Edge or Firefox browser.
eHRAF content is from books, journal articles, dissertations, manuscripts and is indexed at the paragraph level using a subject classification system called the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). This allows for cross-cultural research by retrieving content about the same topic in multiple cultures.

eHRAF World Cultures Quick Start guide (PDF)

Also see MTSU Library's eHRAF page for video tutorials and other resources

Culture

Cuban Culture

Subject Guide

Sharon Parente

Email Me

Contact:

Walker Library 266F

(615) 898-2549

Subjects: Advertising, Anthropology, Business, Business Communication & Education, Communication Studies, Distance Learning, Entrepreneurship, Journalism, Marketing, Mass Communication, Media Arts (Electronic Media Communication), Public Relations, Social Work, Sociology, Statistics & Data

Video

Cubamerican
CUBAMERICAN is the stirring story of how the Cuban Revolution shattered the Cuban family. Spanning the past 60 years of Cuban history, the film evokes this tragedy and its universal themes of loss, freedom, assimilation, struggle and triumph through the stories of Cuban exiles that have achieved acclaim in diverse fields in the U.S.A. and beyond, rendering a mosaic of a bittersweet exile experience.

A pro-immigrant story that grapples with the agony of displacement, contributes rumination on the future of Cuba, and highlights the absolute need for all of the world's people to be able to freely exercise their fundamental human rights; CUBAMERICAN is an insightful and powerful experience.
Balseros: Cuban Rafters
In the summer of 1994, a team of public television reporters filmed and interviewed seven Cubans a few days before their risky venture of setting out to sea in homemade rafts to reach the coast of the United States. Six made it far enough to be picked up at sea by the U.S. Coast Guard.

Health

Hispanics/Latinos and Tobacco Use
Includes statistics about Cuban Americans
Preventing Chronic disease
Racial and Ethnic Heterogeneity in Self-Reported Diabetes Prevalence Trends Across Hispanic Subgroups, National Health Interview Survey, 1997–2012 (Includes Cuban Americans)

Cuban-Americans: Politics, culture and shifting demographis

Cuban-Americans: Politics, culture and shifting demographics

Religion

Spiritist Mediumship as Historical Mediation: African-American Pasts, Black Ancestral Presence, and Afro-Cuban Religions.
Abstract The scholarship on Afro-Atlantic religions has tended to downplay the importance of Kardecist Espiritismo. In this article I explore the performance of Spiritist rituals among Black North American practitioners of Afro-Cuban religions, and examine its vital role in the development of their religious subjectivity
Rethinking African Religions: African Americans, Afro-Latinos, Latinos, and Afro-Cuban Religions in Chicago
Dressed to Charm the Gods: Sensuality, Beauty, and Eroticism in Cuban Santería and the Xangô de Recife
The success that religions of African origin in the Americas have displayed in surviving, expanding and attracting individuals from every ethnic group and social class, and from so many nationalities and realities alien to the African ethnic heritage, is indeed an extraordinary development. At the present time, the cult of the orichas, deities that came from Africa with the slaves, counts its followers by the thousands throughout the world and oversteps, with outstanding political and cultural strength and expansive ethnic boundaries. Here, Bueno Sarduy examines the expansion of Candomble in Brazil and the Cuban Santeria, also called Regla de Ocha, in Cuba
Cuban Americans Religious affiliation
A 2013 Pew Research Center survey of Hispanic adults finds that about half of Cuban adults (49%) identify themselves as Catholic. Roughly two-in-ten (17%) Cubans are Protestant, and among all Cubans, 8% are mainline Protestants and 8% are evangelical Protestants. About one-quarter (26%) of Cuban adults are religiously unaffiliated. In contrast, among all Hispanics 55% identify as Catholic, 22% identify as Protestant, and about two-in-ten (18%) are unaffiliated.

About Us

SW 3200: Cultural Diversity: Cuban Americans