Walker Library: SW 3200: Cultural Diversity: Puerto Rican Americans

Start here to find info about Puerto Rican Americans

Multicultural America

Start by finding general background information about Puerto Rican Americans in Encyclopedias.

1. Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America 2014

This Encyclopedia is a GREAT source of information on all aspects of Puerto Rican American culture, history, religion, family, etc.

2. Atoz the world

This database has excellent info on Puerto Rico, including culture, politics, family, religion, customs, etc.

3. Multicultural America - Ronald H. Bayor (Editor) 63 pages of good information about Mexican Americans

Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 305.800973 M91b

ISBN: 9780313357862

Publication Date: 2011-07-01

Great resource. For differenct ethnic groups gives background, chronology, immigration patterns, cultural assimilation, demographic profile, family life, etc.

Puerto Ricans

Additional reference works

Religion and American Cultures - Luis León (Editor); Gary Laderman (Editor)

Call Number: Call No. 200.973 R27la Reference - Walker Library 1st Floor

ISBN: 157607238X

Publication Date: 2003-08-26

"Religion and American Cultures" offers a unique and engrossing journey across our country's religious landscape, past and present. A new spirit of religious diversity and multiculturalism stands alongside traditional institutions in this exhaustive three-volume set.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
ISBN: 0195156005
Publication Date: 2005
Hispanic Americans by Paul McCaffrey
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 305.868 H62m
ISBN: 9780824210670
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Voices of Multicultural America by Deborah Gillan Straub (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 815.008 V87
ISBN: 0810393786
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
Multiculturalism in the United States by John D. Buenker (Editor); Lorman A. Ratner (Editor)
Call Number: Reference - Walker Library - 1st Floor 305.8 M91b 2005
ISBN: 0313324042
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Contemporary Ethnic Geographies in America by Ines M. Miyares; Christopher A. Airriess
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 305.8 C76m
ISBN: 0742537722
Publication Date: 2006-10-19

Migration/immigration patterns

Puerto Rican Migration to the US
Puerto Ricans had the freedom to travel to the United States as citizens but, like immigrants from a foreign country, they faced challenges of adapting to new cultural, social, and economic surroundings. In New York and other cities, Puerto Rican men and women were employed in a range of industries but also encountered language barriers and discrimination based on race and ethnicity.
Puerto Rico
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Ed. James Ciment. Vol. 3: Immigration Issues, Part III; Immigrant Groups in America, Part I. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2001. p1145-1152. COPYRIGHT 2001 M.E. Sharpe, Inc.
Héctor R. Cordero-Guzmán
Family
importance of family to the immigration process.

Family

Hispanic Famliies in the United States: Famliy Structure and Process in an Era of Family Change
The last decades of the 20th century were a period of significant change in family life in the United States. Among the well-documented changes are a rising age at marriage, an increase in cohabitation, and a dramatic shift in the proportion of children born outside marriage. This article is about Hispanic families, but it gives info on the different groups for each issue that it addresses
Cultural Values of Latino Patients and Families
Info is designed to help healthcare professionals, but it contains lots of useful information about family life and values and Latino culture in general.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Famlily, 2003
Hispanic American Families

Library Search (JEWL)

Articles from Ebsco Discovery search

Puerto Rican Americans and Culture--articles

Here are some example search results. Click on the links to see the articles.

Puerto Ricans: food or cooking articles/books
Puerto Ricans: Family articles
Puerto Rican: Religion articles
Articles about Puerto Ricans and education
Search for Puerto Ricans
Economic consequences of inadequate education for the Puerto rican population in the U.S.
Puerto Ricans in the U.S. low-wage market: introduction to the issues, trends, and policies
Minding/Mending the Puerto Rican Education Pipeline in New York City
New York City has been the gateway city in the United States for the Puerto Rican
migration as well as the locus for a significant proportion of the Puerto Rican student population. They continue to experience chronic underachievement as reflected in what has been characterized as a “leaky education pipeline.”
Educational Achievement of U.S. Puerto Ricans
Educational Disparities among Puerto Ricans in Higher Education
Enrollment disparity in college or graduate school between Puerto Ricans and Latinos compared to whites is about 10 percentage points lower in the United States and New York State according to Centro’s new Education Research Brief by Dr. Luis O. Reyes and Anna Rosofsky
A Focus on an Emerging Latina/o Population:
A Focus on an Emerging Latina/o Population: The Role of
Psychological Acculturation, Acculturative Stress, and Coping on Depression Symptoms Among Central Florida Puerto Ricans

Other databases with information from journals, magazine, videos, etc.

Puerto Ricans

Some additional databases may have some information for you.

Find more info about Puerto Ricans in Student Resources

Articles from Opposing viewpoints on Puerto Ricans
A brief culturally tailored intervention for Puerto Ricans with Type 2 diabetes
from the National Institute of Health

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life, organized by regions, subregions, and cultures. Works best with Microsoft Edge or Firefox browser.
eHRAF content is from books, journal articles, dissertations, manuscripts and is indexed at the paragraph level using a subject classification system called the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). This allows for cross-cultural research by retrieving content about the same topic in multiple cultures.

eHRAF World Cultures Quick Start guide (PDF)

Also see MTSU Library's eHRAF page for video tutorials and other resources

Newspapers

EGP
Largest Chain of Hispanic Owned Bilingual Newspapers in the U.S.
Use the Search box to find information on your topic.

Books about Puerto Ricans

Puerto Ricans in the United States by Edna Acosta-Belén; Carlos E. Santiago
Call Number: Walker Library - 4th Floor 973.046872 Ac7p
ISBN: 1588264009
Publication Date: 2006-02-01
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness by Rachel E. Spector
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 362.10425 Sp31c 2013
ISBN: 9780132840064
Publication Date: 2012-08-08
A Grounded Identidad by Merida M. Rua
Call Number: Walker Library - 2nd Floor 305.8687295 R82g
ISBN: 9780199760268
Publication Date: 2012-07-26
Belonging to Puerto Rico and America by Abigal Stahl McNamee
ISBN: 1606924931
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
This book is based on a study which investigates the developing conceptualisation of twenty-four first, third, and fifth-grade New York Puerto Rican children of their own cultural group.
Latino Children and Families in the United States by Josefina M. Contreras; Kathryn A. Kerns; Angela M. Neal-Barnett
ISBN: 0313012016

Search EasyBib: Click on the EasyBib Image Below

Culture

Puerto Ricans

Locate statistics

Information and statistics from Pew Research
Building Our Understanding: Culture Insights Communicating with Hispanic/Latinos
General statistics and many statistics on communication such as TV, Social Media, Magazines, etc.
Demographic info about Puerto Rican americans
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Statistical portrait of hispanics in the U.S. 2011
Diversity Kids

Info from authoritative web sites

Cultural Insights
also has statistics
Pew research Hispanic Trends Project
Pew Research Center's Hispanic Trends Project seeks to improve public understanding of the diverse Hispanic population in the United States and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation. Info on education, youth, politics, economics,
Journalist's Resource Puerto Ricans in the United States
A number of articles from the Harvard Kennedy School. (We will not have all of the articles in our library)
Heritage and culture of Puerto Ricans
National Association of Puerto Rican Hispanic Social workers
Comite Noviembre
Comité Noviembre’s mission is to commemorate and acknowledge all aspects of Puerto Rican life from the social and cultural to the educational, economic and political. The charge of CN is to create an awareness of the rich culture, language and heritage of the Puerto Rican community and to acknowledge its numerous contributions to this state and nation.
Puerto Rican recipes from Food.com
Recipes from Puerto Rico

Need help

Kristen West

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

James E. Walker Library

615-904-8528 (office)

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Databases - New and Trial, Dissertations & Theses, Health & Human Performance, Human Sciences, Leisure, Sport, and Tourism Studies, Nutrition & Food Science, Physician Assistant Studies, Public and Community Health, Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Putting it all together

For help with organizing and writing your paper, contact the Writing center on the third floor of the library.

Phone: 904-8237

Email: uwcenter@mtsu.edu

Log on to WCONLINE to see your upcoming appointments:

mtsu.mywconline.com

Templates for formatting your paper are availabe for MLA and APA in Microsoft Word. Open a blank document, then Click on "File" then click on 'New" and search for APA or MLA

FINISH by Citing your sources of information

Easy Bib research Guide

Try the Easy Bib Citation Generator in the middle column for your citations. It automatically uses MLA, so click on APA if you want that style.

Citation Style Guides

About Us

SW 3200: Cultural Diversity: Puerto Rican Americans